We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Stoke By Nayland, Colchester CO6 4SE, England
01206 262001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 381 Restaurants in Colchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sunday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I agree with Graham13colchester. We had a family roast there, the roast potatoes were the worst I have ever had in a restaurant. Complained - sent a bowl exactly the same.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    44
    33
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bit overpriced for quality of food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went on MothersDay in the early evening so it may be a bit unfair as it was busy but there again maybe that is a true test. Despite booking the table was not ready and was in an area where people passed through to and and to use the toilets. Food was good for an average pub but that's all. Some was a bit overcooked and the wait between courses was such that no one could be bothered to order coffee or desert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Varied menu and blackboard. The fish was excellent, the freshest I have ever eaten in a restaurant and cooked to perfection. Service was prompt and helpful. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently had a family Sunday lunch at The Crown and of the 6 of us 3 had the roast beef at £18.50 per head. The meat was very average, the veg was overcooked and the roast potatoes were hardly roasted and soggy.
The burger was raw but I did not find out about until we had left otherwise I would have sent it back..
The staff are great but the kitchen definitely is'nt.

We won't be returning until we hear that the cooking has improved.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely the tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This has to be one of the best places to eat in North Essex - an area not short of top places.
The food is imaginative, without being pretentious. The wine list is superb. I cannot praise the Crown highly enough. Just go and have a lovely time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Stoke by Nayland, Suffolk
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.