We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pre theatre or cinema venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food @ The Mercury

Food @ The Mercury
Balkerne Gate, Colchester CO1 1PT, England
01206 368100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 363 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect pre theatre or cinema venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Coming to Food at the Mercury, is a perfect way to start an evening and will set the right mood for you, with the quality reflecting the high standards set by the theatre itself.

The food was delicious with one of the most authentic caesar salads i have eaten in a long time and the main course of crayfish and pea risotto being both perfectly cooked and creamy. My partner also said their plaice goujons and the chicken Milanaise were also delicious.
The service was helpful, efficient and attentive. The menu was priced at £11.95 for the two courses. A bargain!

PS I have scored 'bar scene' in error and cannot delete it as it doesn't apply to this restaurant, so please ignore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coggeshall
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent pre theatre meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we ate here on a pre-theatre deal of a set meal which was excellent value
staff were friendly and efficient service was good and fast and we had no problem getting to the theatre in time

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food at the Mercury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food always at Food at the Mercury. Always superb service and never rushed. Highly recommend Food at the Mercury whether you are having a pre-show meal or anytime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great way to start the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

An ideal restaurant to start your evening at the mercury theatre. The food was very nice and a reasonable price. Not sure I would go here if I was not going to the theatre but food very nice and service good too. Would recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Having booked for a show we decided to visir early and try the restaurant. Really glad we did. The service against an imposed deadline was smooth and efficient without being hurried and stressed. The food was remarkable, a great tribute to the chefs on duty that evening. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food @ The Mercury also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Food @ The Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food @ The Mercury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.