We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian in Colchester!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaal

Zaal
48 Botophs St, Colchester CO2 7EB, England
01206 545 111
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 362 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian in Colchester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you have never tried Zaal in Colchester then you are missing out on a fine dining experience! The restaurant has everything going for it; cleanliness, friendly courteous staff, nicely laid out tables, great atmosphere and delicious cuisine. Many of Abdul's customers are regulars.
The first Thursday in the month is Elvis night with a duo who perform a variety of Elvis and rock and roll classics; they are brilliant and on these nights it's advisable to book as they are always fully booked! There are quite often people who like to dance a bit of jive and this adds to the party atmosphere on such nights.
At the end of your evening there is always a friendly member of the staff team ready to open the door and bid you goodnight and a safe journey home.
Annette

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Excellent Indian cuisine served, in a thoughtful modern setting, by wonderful staff. I have enjoyed lovely late night meals with my better half as well as celebrating events with my large family. The Elvis Night is a delight but expect to book a month in advance, it's very popular. The owner and staff are attentive and friendly. All palates are catered for and children are very welcome.

The restaurant is very clean and the toilets are spotless and a decent size so access for disabled diners would not be a problem. The waiters are very helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very solid curry Hut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Me and my girlfriend decided to go to zaal after hearing great reviews and we were certainly not disappointed. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly waitor who said we could pick where we wanted to sit as it was quiet at 6pm on a Saturday. The waitor was extremely friendly and very accommodating. He was very chatty and to some people this may be off putting but we thoroughly enjoyed having conversations with him. The food was excellent and the service was very quick. The jalfrezi is one of the hottest I have had and I quickly had to guzzle down some water to cool my pallete but I Would definitely recommend and will return again. They also have great presentation of the food and a good old cobra wets the whistle perfectly !! 4/5

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This smart place is worth a visit. I have used them for takeaways for a few years but not been in enough. I find Abdul and his staff very pleasant & genuinely caring people. If you haven't been in before you are in for a treat, the food seems to be perfect whatever is chosen but I always like to be told about the individual dishes that are exclusive to Zaal as they are really passionate about them and I can not fault them. I enjoy Zaal as they have impressive wines & find that they stand up to many dishes which on the whole are not to spicy. I look forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Wonder of Zaal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, brilliant service.
By far the best Indian/Bangladeshi restaurants we've eaten in.
The team are very happy to cater for all pallets of temperature tolerance!!
We've eaten here with a group of 16, also treated the kids to the Elvis night, which was a great hit with them.
Nothing is too much for the friendly staff, all of which are very well educated in the dishes they serve.
A very clean, well looked after restaurant, from toilets to tableware.
A definite 5** all round, and highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaal also viewed

 

Been to Zaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.