We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's what you call a curry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharani Restaurant

Maharani Restaurant
102 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TH, England
01206 367667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 358 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That's what you call a curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went to this place for the first time a last with some family and now when in Colchester I won't go anywhere else. Amazing quality food, service and value. It's in the heart of Colchester close to everything. A real gem of a place, glad I went there

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    26
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to relax and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I went to the Maharani for an evening out. We have had many Indians in our time but the Maharani was by far the best we have ever had. The food was amazing and well presented. The service we recieved was second to none they where polite,attentive and top notch. The prices are of good value as where there drinks prices. The atmosphere was great ,not too loud, ambient authentic music, decor was modern and clean.Please visit.Brilliant

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“takeaway,now eat in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

having had takeaways from here for the last few years,decided to eat in...were not dissapointed,exellent service and food.will be back..thank you john and all staff.6 falcon crescent

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food 4 less price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me & my boy friend been the restaurant 31st evening and it was almost filled with customers. So they arrange me a table. My bf had a hot dish it's called chicken joypur & I had a modu chicken. I can't explain U what a testy meal it was. We enjoy the food & we decided that we will go there every 31st evening. Thanks maharani and my special thanks to that boy who serve us. He is very cleverly control all the customers. He looks like 22 but he is 26.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When ever I come back to my family home in Essex, this is the curry house for me!

From the outside it doesn't look overly impressive, but the quality of curries is exceptional! I wouldn't look to another curry house in Colchester. By far the best and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharani Restaurant also viewed

Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Maharani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharani Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.