We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling in Essex and Suffolk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolpedals Cycling Holidays

Coolpedals Cycling Holidays
Kintail, Moor Road | Langham, Colchester CO4 5NR., England
+44 1206 625325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Activities in Colchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Self-guided cycling holidays and day bike hire. Come and explore beautful Constable Country, historic medieval villages, and the Heritage Coast from our base on the Essex/Suffolk border just north of Colchester.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cycling in Essex and Suffolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Absolutely amazing scenery and our refreshment stops were fantastic. Accommodation at Dedham Hall and Poplars Farmhouse were also terrific.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Marvellous cycling trip in Essex and Suffolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Despite the freezing cold weather that we endured, this trip of Paul's was a great success. Our 6 day tour took us round some beautiful villages, countryside and coast - the route was very well thought through. Took our own bikes, but all the baggage was moved on for us and we stayed in superb bed and breakfasts. We'll definitely be back to try another route sometime soon. Thanks for all your help Paul and Sue.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
“First Singapore Customers for Coolpedals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were glad that we found Paul Armstrong of Coolpedals for our first cycling holiday abroad. Corresponding with him over the Internet to liaise for the logistics of the trip was easy and he gave us very good hotel accommodations with wifi. The routes that he planned catered to what we wanted and we were very pleased with the logistics support he gave such as the hybrid bicycles, the accessories for our stuff and hardcopy maps with GPS for the group. Seeing the Constable Country and the beautiful English countrysides on a bicycle is definitely the way to do it. I’m very sure Coolpedals will have more customers from this part of the world in the near future.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Two friends and I have just come back from a 2 night Constable tour with Cool Pedals and it was brilliant. Turning up and being greeted by Paul, we were set up with excellent bikes with 27 gears, a GPS with our routes programmed in, and good old fashioned paper maps too, so it was difficult to get lost. The B&Bs we stayed at were far better than i expected and having all our things waiting for us when we arrived at each B&B was great. On the final day, i managed to get a flat tyre. A quick call to Paul and 20 mins later a new bike was brought to where i was and I was promptly sent on my way. I would defintely recommend Cool Pedals and although i felt a bit saddle sore, i would definitely do it again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family of four -- two adults and two girls aged 12 and 15 -- took a 3-day beginner level Coolpedals cycling holiday as part of a 3 week trip to the UK and we really enjoyed it. We found it an excellent antidote to the frantic pace and noise of sightseeing in London. We were lucky to enjoy cool but dry weather during our tour. Paul outfitted us with all the gear we needed, including a GPS that proved easy to use after a few minor hiccups at the beginning. The roads were mostly quiet, and mostly paved, although there is some off roading at times. The routes are flexible, with short and long options available for each day and recommendations for pubs and restaurants to enjoy along the way. The accommodations were all high quality, reputable inns. On the final day, we elected not to ride at all, as everyone was tired and sore, and Paul readily retrieved us in his car. All in all, a wonderful way to see this part of the country, get some fresh air, exercise, and produce wonderful photos and memories.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolpedals Cycling Holidays also viewed

 

Been to Coolpedals Cycling Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolpedals Cycling Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.