We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and crisp sunny morning in North Essex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marks Hall Gardens and Arboretum

Marks Hall Gardens and Arboretum
Marks Hall | Coggeshall, Colchester, England
+44 1376 563796
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 32 Attractions in Colchester
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gardens and Arboretum at Marks Hall form an unmissable attraction in the Essex countryside. Marks Hall combines many English traditions with beautiful formal gardens, a stunning Arboretum with an enviable collection of mature trees from across the world, woodland and leafy paths to walk on for miles. A visit to Marks Hall will inspire a need to return time and time again seeing new things as they happen throughout the year.
Colne Engaine, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and crisp sunny morning in North Essex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Clear blue skies and a fresh November morning took us to the Marks Hall Estate. A splendid walk round the Estate, great autumnal colours, some great scenery. A peaceful, relaxing stroll, the stunning upper and lower lakes, the intriguing walled gardens just added to a great experience.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This place is so beautiful even at the end of October with all the colour. There is so much walking to do and so restful and peaceful we are going back in the spring without any doubt. So sad about the house but the gardens more than make up for it. Thought the entry fee compared to a lot of places was reasonable and so was the coffee, cake etc. We loved it and have already told lots of people about it.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An expensive woodland walk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We went to Marks Hall because we understood from the website that we could take our dog on a woodland walk. On arrival we told the gentleman at the ticket office that all we wanted was the woodland walk with the dog. He charged us £9.00 (OAP rate), gave us a map that was extremely difficult to understand and told us to walk over the bridge. The bridge turned out to be the entrance to the arboretum where dogs weren't allowed. By talking to another party with the same problem we all eventually worked out the path to take. They gave up and took their dog back to the car while we carried on walking along the path. After about 100 yards we were led to a public footpath (a concrete farm track) with no sign of a woodland walk. We turned round and returned to the "infamous" bridge. We then saw a sign which directed us to a trail. We finished on the same public footpath with a direction to walk across a muddy farmers field. Once again we turned round and returned to our car and on our route back we saw a sign that said words to the effect of "if you're walking on the public footpath, please make yourself known at the kiosk or you will be charged as a Marks Hall visitor. We realised that if you park away from the estate you can walk for free but otherwise you will be charged per person just for parking. Of all the places we've visited this is the first time that we've been so angry as to register on Trip advisor to write a review. Hopefully our future reviews of other venues will be more positive.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Too expensive for families and everyone.they would get more visitors if they reduced te entrance fee. The price s making it available to a select portion of the community.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A lovely Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I have been a couple of times and Its a lovely restful place. The Walled Garden is fantastic with Bee's and Butterflies all around. The planting is varied and you can get lost for hours. If you have a young family you can buy fish food and duck feed there so children will have fun feeding the large Carp and the noisy Ducks. In fact haubby and I may do that minus the kids :)

The woodland is great hoping to return for the more classical autumn leaves look.

The cafe is good value . The Sandwiches are filled generously and coffee tastes great.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marks Hall Gardens and Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Marks Hall Gardens and Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marks Hall Gardens and Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.