We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character just within the Roman walls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colchester Arts Centre (St Mary's)

Colchester Arts Centre (St Mary's)
Church Street, Colchester CO1 1NF, England
01206 500 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Attractions in Colchester
Type: Art Galleries, Cultural
Attraction details
Colchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Character just within the Roman walls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Get yourself on their email or newsletter list. Fantastically atmospheric, good acoustics and brilliant bouncers make this a great venue for comedy, music and theatre, not to mention the farmers' markets and beer festivals. Always a mixed crowd, so expect grandmas dancing to punk bands and teenagers lapping up the poetry. Unlikely to be any trouble as atmosphere is more fun than fight!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Colchester's hidden sparkle..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have lived in Colchester for almost a year and until a few weekends ago, had not heard of this little gem!
We went along for a cabaret show with friends and minus the show, the environment of the old church was quite lovely! Cosy even!

We will be back to experience this environment again!
Ooh and I must mention the staff too! They were all very helpful and smiley!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to see King Charles here. It was packed out and had a good atmosphere. The space has a lot of character and it has a homely kind of feel to it. Prices were great to and its handy having the bar at the side of the space. Good quality sound and a nice staff as well. Really enjoyed the night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for all kinds of events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been to children's and adult events here for many years and always have a good time. They get a great variety of acts performing here and the setting in a church makes it a really interesting venue. Prices are great too and with parking just across the road it's easy to access too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Colchester's Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've been going to the Arts Centre for quite a while now and have been lucky to see, among others, Echo and the Bunnymen, The Wedding Present, Tindersticks, Sean Hughes, Six By Seven, Lucy Porter, Dark Star and Marcus Brigstocke. Being in the church is a unique location to see a gig or a variety of comedic talent. The Arts Centre has a cosy feeling all of its own. In the last 3 days I have been lucky to see comedian Simon Day and then the mighty Magic Band, showing the diversity that the venue offers. The staff are great and very friendly, the prices are more than reasonable and you couldn't ask for more. The winter and summer beer festivals are also worth a look as well as the monthly farmers market. Always a top night out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colchester Arts Centre (St Mary's) also viewed

 

Been to Colchester Arts Centre (St Mary's)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colchester Arts Centre (St Mary's), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.