We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Homemade Food & Fantastic Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timbers

Timbers
22 Trinity Street, Colchester CO1 1JN, England
+44 1206 367676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 345 restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Dessert, English, British, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Simon, Ali and the team would like to welcome you to "timbers" our family run restaurant set in a gorgeous 400 year old timber framed building in the historic centre of Colchester. We offer well cooked quality food from our famous breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients, such as Proctors award winning sausages, local farm free range eggs, to our home made versions of world renowned classics. Great Coffees and teas or maybe something a little stronger are all available to wash it all down with! We believe that if we can serve you the best meals, by the friendliest staff, then you will be more than happy to come back and recommend us to all your friends.
colchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Homemade Food & Fantastic Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visit this gem of a restaurant regularly,and have never ever had a disappointing meal.Ali,lou,Jess,and Justin,always welcome their customers with such warmth,as do the other members of staff,and even when the restaurant is very busy,they go that extra mile,by making each custiomer feel special.Lovely to be greeted with smiling faces.
Lou makes the most amazing soups,which are extremely welcoming,especially on a cold winters day.The food is always hot,and nicely presented.Its so lovely to eat at a restaurant where you know that the products used are fresh,and not processed.
We were truly astonished to read negative comments made about Timbers.Its warm,cozy,and inviting.
I went there for a Christmas festive meal at lunchtime with work collegues,the meal was hot,beautifully presented,and such good value for money.
There is an excellent menu,and again so reasonable in price..suits all budgets.
Would recommend Timbers as a wonderful eating experience.A joy to visit every time.
Claire & Drew

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Well, what can we say! Thank you so much for visiting us, and for reviewing us on trip advisor. We'll probably never get te staffs head out of the doors now, but seriously, its lovely that all of the teams hard work pays off. We always try so hard to ensure that we add fresh, locally sourced products to the menu's or specials boards, and its great that our customers notice! We look forward to seeing you back at timbers soon, and thank you once again . Kind regards, Simon, Ali and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    84
    16
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

On our day visit to Colchester and looking for some where to have lunch,we were recommended by a shop assistant.
Looking from the outside it's looks small,but once inside it's surprising how big it is,you can sit downstairs or upstairs,we were greeted with a friendly smile from the staff.
There is a good selection to choose from the menu,all at reasonable prices, food was excellent with very good portions,but sorry no room for desert,there were four of us and we all agreed it was faultless.
Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
First, thank you for taking the time to visit us at timbers. We are very glad we were able to live up to the recomendation of somebody that served you locally. Proof that word of mouth is the best form of recomendation! We will tell the staff to keep smiling it really works! Hopefully you will visit Colchester again and we look forward to chance to serve you again. Kindest regards, Simon, Ali and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My daughter chose to eat here cause in her words it looked cosy. Once inside we found it certainly was that. We got there about 11.40 and it was already very busy but got a table downstairs. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. I had a prawn sandwich on granary bread and it was absolutely delicious, the bread was so fresh and packed with juicy prawns, you also get some little square herby pots with it and they were yummy!! My daughter had the ham and cheese baguette and it was equally lovely (well she ate it all so it must've been as she's a very fussy eater)!! Will def be coming back very soon with my other half as the big breakfasts that the table next to us had looked gorgeous. Try it if you haven't, you won't be disappointed :) from Sarah & Emily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YOU HAVE TO EAT HERE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ahh, Timbers! We go here quite a lot, in fact we'll be there having a good ol' hearty breakfast tomorrow morning [Saturday 30th March]. It truly is a lovely little restaurant! It is extremely cosy inside and the food is absolutely excellent! I love sitting upstairs at the table right by the wonky window, on the wonky floor and just sitting and 'people' watching! You may have to wait a bit for the food sometimes but it is cooked to order so it comes up piping hot no matter how busy the 'team' are! The team are polite and friendly and NOTHING is too much trouble. I once ordered a coffee and when it came up it was far too strong for me so it was taken away and more hot milk added. Lovely! This place is almost a home from home BUT... it does get absolutely packed sometimes so if it's a Saturday and your'e in Colchester doing your shopping and your'e hungry...get in there about 12o'clock as it will get VERY busy! This place certainly gets my vote EVERY time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words and of course you're custom. We are so pleased you appreciate what timbers stands for in our opinion, good honest food, in a fantastic enviroment at value for money prices. We hope you got that breakfast you wanted next day and that we continue to welcome you to timbers in the future. Simon, Ali and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quality and Quantity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have used Timbers for a number of years for lite bites, a coffee and cake and more substantial meals, but only recently have tried the Sunday Roast, mainly because tables always seem to be taken. Last week we arrived about 1.30pm and found the then only unoccupied ground floor table. The young smiling waiting staff soon took our orders,and brought our pre meal drinks without delay. We waited about 15 minutes for our meals which comprised the beef, roast potatoes,Yorkshire pudding, peas,carrots and amazingly tasty cabbage, enriched by dark delicious gravy. All for less than £7 pp.
Timbers the building has character, it's town centre location is a terrific plus and in our experience its staff, behind the scenes and "front of house" always make the customers welcome and wanting to return for the all round quality and quantity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
On behalf of Ali, myself and all the team, thank you very much for taking the time to review timbers, and, for your continued business. all the team try really hard to please and its great to be able to pass on to them how those "smiley faces" even on tough days are appreciated by the likes of yourselves. So glad you have tried the sunday lunch, its something that has evolved at timbers and we are now proud of the offering. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon, Simon Alison & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbers also viewed

 

Been to Timbers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.