We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning soon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naka Thai

Naka Thai
35 East Hill, Colchester CO12QX, England
+44 01206 864086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 362 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Relax and enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in this 300 year old historic Tudor building in Colchester. Although the building has been modernised, it still retains every aspect of its uniqueness and heritage. Our Head Chef, Triphop Thongkraing, was raised and trained in Thailand and has over 25 years experience. His talents are proven through customer enjoyment and appreciation for his cooking ability and innate creativity. This inspires him to maintain the Thai culinary traditions, preparation and presentation in Naka Thai. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, and you can dine assured that no matter what the occasion is you will have a pleasurable dining experience.
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Will be returning soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited early on a Tuesday night and it was already busy which I always think is a good sign.

We had a lovely waitress who was very attentive and the food was fantastic. The chicken Pad Thai and Duck in a tamarind sauce were particularly yummy.

We used Tesco Clubcard vouchers to pay for our food and there were no issues with this.

Lovely surroundings and a good atmosphere. We will be returning ASAP!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    50
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“last minute evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We decided at the last minute to have a meal out and decided, as my wife had not eaten Thai food before, to try Naka Thai. We were not disappointed. We did not book thinking 07;30 on a Saturday evening shouldn't be a problem as it was quite early. How surprised were we, this place was already quite busy, which was good to see. We were served by attentive staff, and yes there were numerous different staff, but all were friendly and polite.

The food was very good, my wife is not a fan of spicy food, so was a bit worried. However the menu caters for everyone and there was plenty of dishes that were not spicy, so she had a wide variety to choose from. The wine list could be a bit more varied but there were wines that we found acceptable.

The portion sizes were also very good and we found it difficult to finish our meal. Although the staff were attentive we did not feel rushed and enjoyed a relaxing meal.

We have a smarter card voucher, which was even better as they accept them at anytime, so as well as superb food, we also had a bargain to boot!!!

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night with family,very good food service and value for money. Restaurant was brightly lit to start with but was nicer when they dimmed lights,but this is the only negative I could find. Will definitely return to eat soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food right here in my own town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were welcomed and taken to our table immediately, our drinks order was taken and we were soon trying to choose from the menu - easier said that done! We eventually went for one of the set menus and were not disappointed. We ate everything apart from a beef dish which was too spicy for my liking however my partner didn't have a problem with it!

Nice touches included the spicy crackers while we looked at the menu, the owner was very friendly and chatty and happily discussed his menu and gave us a takeaway menu for home - however the food was so scrummy we will probably return there very soon!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent food, great value with a Taste Card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have eaten here quite a few times now. The food is consistently excellent, with a really good range of dishes. The staples you would expect in most Thai restaurants and some more unusual dishes. The staff are attentive and helpful. It's a bit of an odd building for a Thai restaurant, probably Tudor and a little too brightly lit upstairs. There is 50% off food with a Taste Card, otherwise might be a bit pricy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naka Thai also viewed

 

Been to Naka Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naka Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.