We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food good, service less so!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mussi's

Mussi's
3-7 Museum Street, Colchester, England
01206 762000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 363 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $8 - $56
Cuisines: European, Italian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food good, service less so!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited recently with friends. 6 of us, so 10% service added, which I hate!
Starters and mains very good indeed. Desserts apparently not very tasty- 2 of our number tried them. A couple of stiff slices of bread with the cheeseboard were not tempting at all.
The waitresses were very pleasant, but really had no idea of serving etiquette; a real let down for an otherwise lovely restaurant.We would not have paid the amount of "tip" that was added automatically to our bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and service faultless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I go here quite often and each time iv been the food has been outstanding and the staff have been helpful and friendly .

On my most recent visit me and my partner had avacado and the scallops which we shared both had amazing flavours and tasted spot on.

The main course of red mullet and rack of lamb were amazing the flowers on the lamb looked pretty and tasted good with the,lamb and baby vegetables. the red mullet was just as amazing with a variety of mussel, scallop etc in the dish aswell.

The staff have been polite and friendly on every occassion , they dont pester you time and time again they are always about if something is needed they clear the plates promptly instead of leaving them on front of you for sometime, the girls are always smiling and they are always keen to have a laugh with you , they have never given us bad service and,we never fail to leave.without smiles on our faces I can only suggest that staff keep smiling and being proffesional as always


Looking forward to coming back already

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic food, shame about the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice restaurant, food was fantastic, very tasty, perfectly cooked and presented. Good variety of wonderful things to choose from.
My only gripe would be the waiting staff......'very sloppy, cant be bothered attitude'. A restaurant of this calibre should have 'top dollar, professional style staff'.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely anniversary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went here with my wife for our 19th anniversary lunch on a Tuesday. The main restaurant was empty although the outside cafe bar area was about half full. The staff were very polite and friendly not too pushy but available when we wanted them. I had the lamb shank and my wife had the Dinglely Dell Pork and both looked great and tasted great. We will definitely go back here in the future.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“quiet good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The atmosphere was very friendly , food quiet good. we where kept waiting at the door while the staff walked past us which was a bit annoying but overall a good experience. We will try again maybe for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussi's also viewed

 

Been to Mussi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.