We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Colchester
norwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights last weekend. Booked through booking.com. Would have preferred somewhere a little more central but didnt like the look of anything in town centre. However it was only about a comfortable 15 minute walk into the town from here which was ok. We were allocated a free upgrade to a recently refurbed room which was much appreciated. Excellent modern bathroom with good size wall-mounted flatscreen tv, ipod dock etc. Only downside was the view from the window of someones flat roof covered with broken glass and training shoes but i guess there is not much the hotel can do about that. For what we paid dont think we could have done better in Colchester. Would certainly use again if we were staying in Colchester. Ate both nights in the restaurant which was fine, menu not the largest i have seen but food was ok, drink prices also pretty reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    73
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
72
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Cornard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My hubby and I like many others are like ships passing in the night due to work and kids so have made a vow to have date nights, This weekend was a date weekend and it was everything I had hoped for. We treated ourselves to breakfast in bed both mornings, The room was beautiful, facilities plentyiful and the staff helpful. will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding. At £70 per night, this is cheaper than many Premier Inns, and soooooo much better.

We were greeted with a warm smile and a genuine welcome. Our room was a good size, with a decent bathroom, toiletries and free wifi. The bed was comfortable, and we slept fine.

The bar serves a decent range of drinks and the food is really good - proper wholesome pub fair. It is also frequented by locals so it must be good! Breakfast was filling and you can have a much tea, coffee, juice, cereals and pastries as you can handle. Plus the full English is just fab.

If this is typical of a Best Western, I think I could be a convert!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived late evening on a Friday. Great location. Really friendly reception and a lovely building oozing history. If you are tall(I'm not ) you may hit your head on the wooden beams. It's lovely. Our room and bath is modern and very clean and tidy. The bar/restaurant was extremely busy with locals as well as hotel guests. The food is excellent. The staff are all very efficient and keen to help.
Considering the location we expected outside noise, but there was none.
Breakfast was wonderful too. I can't fault this place.
Thanks a million

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimscombe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Decent enough hotel - room was fine but the dribble from the shower was matched by the dribble out of the sink. Also wifi was rubbish. Service was friendly and breakfast good although coffee was tasteless
Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Driven past many times, thought give a try, wonderful, tasty, innovative food, lovely waitress, great venue, only negative was car parking was a little difficult, worth the trouble though! We'll be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

stayed one night in september, food, room and service excellent, great location to wander around the town, hotel comes with carpark, great choice of ales and good atmostphere, the hotel also posted my i-phone charger to my home address free of charge as i,d left it in my room, only negative was the room was on ground floor, could not open windows and claustrophobic, the air con unit and draught from it face the bed so with this on you wake several times during night, would definately stay again though

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester

Address: East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose And Crown Colchester
Best Western Rose & Crown Colchester Hotel Colchester
Best Western Hotel Colchester
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.