We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Colchester
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed in the newer building. My room overlooked the car park - a bit noisy - and the stairs and hall leading to my bedroom were a bit noisy. The bedroom was spotless (I even ran my finger along the skirting board). Toiletries were provided in the bathroom (downside - no heating in it!). The decor of the room was fine and the bed comfortable. At breakfast the staff were excellent as were the 2 reception staff I encountered and the bar made a superb brandy coffee for me with REAL double cream! I did not eat in the restaurant. The hotel is very old with lovely old wooden beams. This hotel is staffed by people who provide a very good service.

Room Tip: Try a "new building" bedroom away from the hotel reception entrance. Cars park there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    92
    44
    21
    14
See reviews for
22
91
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very old hotel, with loads of original features. We were upgraded to a Executive double on the front of the hotel, quite a large room, we were later told this was because "on the Saturday night we had limited availability", the hotel did not seem very busy at all.

The main problem with this hotel is noise internally and externally, once the traffic had died down and the guests had retired for the night it was quite exceptable ..... EXCEPT for Sunday Night when the night staff "Deep Cleaned" the public bar area at 03:00, this ruined that night's sleep for an hour of two. When I complained after the event I got the usual apologies and told me I should have complained at the time, to late night ruined.

Watch out for low beams

Food

We ate in the bar on Saturday night, an excellent meal at a reasonable price, breakfast on both days was very good.

Staff

Very Friendly

Overall a very good stay if you ignore Sunday night/Monday Morning noise

Room Tip: If you are in the rooms in the main building, ask if the night shift have any noisy cleaning to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had been recommended this hotel by a friend, so booked up and paid £61.00 for a single room, which I didn't think was too unreasonable for a Saturday night.

Arrived at the hotel and was checked in promptly, the hotel itself is an old building but the appearance was good and clean. I was given a room in the main building so just had to walk upstairs, there is a separate annex which is just across the car park as well. The receptionist also informed us that there was a private function taking place and there may be some noise, however as we were out in the town until late anyway this did not disturb me.

For a single I was impressed with the room size, especially the bathroom which had no shortage of space! A shower was provided which functioned fine and there was also a standard flat screen TV, although I did not use this.

Went into the bar downstairs prior to going out for a few drinks. I had an Adnams ale, but it was a bit pricey so we only stayed for one before moving on.

Had a good nights sleep and checked out in no time at all, the receptionist even booked us a taxi back to the railway station which was handy!

I would definitely stay here again, the staff are a credit to this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was the venue for a very large birthday party, with most of the guests staying the night, so the hotel was pretty much at capacity. The buffet provided was excellent. The hotel staff were courteous and went out of their way to provide extra help. If you like quirky old hotels with real log fires you will love this place - we did; especially as it was freezing out. Bedrooms were clean, cosy and warm. The only down side was the shower - Lovely and hot on Sat evening, cold on Sunday morning - we were probably the last to rise and the others had used it all up. Breakfast was buffet plus full English fry up. Tea and coffee were in huge thermos flasks, which meant you could help yourself as often as you wanted. I preferred this to teapots. A good time was had by all. Thank you Rose and Crown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the corridor are larger, some have 4 poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we arrived at the rose and crown 1/2 hour to early where our coat were taken from us ( who's wants to carry there coats around with them inside a hotel ) we were directed to the bar and when our table was ready a member of staff came and told us , within 5 mins we had our starters,all the food was well cooked , and very well presented
this was a restuarant where the staff care about the service they give to there customers

well done

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night having won it in a raffle. We were joined by our family just for dinner. The food was good, of acceptable quality and quantity but had to be consumed in the Bar area where we were sandwiched between an attractive but hot open fire, and draughty windows. Our room was large and clean, and had a refurbished bathroom which lacked just minor detail like no ledge above the hand basin for toothbrushes etc The floorboards were a little noisy which is what you would expect from a building of its age. However the most annoying feature was the noisy mattress on the bed which squeaked at the slightest movement. Hopefully this room is not allocated to couples on their wedding night. This is a problem however that is easily solved with a replacement. Generally the staff were friendly and efficient. For tourists this is a good example of ye olde England, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to my American relatives.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a quiet mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had just one night at this hotel whilst attending my company Christmas party.
First impressions are not bad, apart from the rain coming through the ceiling in the entrance lobby, with a black bin bag on the sofa below to prevent it getting too wet.
The room was very tired, and long overdue for a re-fit. The mastic seal around the bath is about an inch wide, and looks as though it was applied by a child.
The furniture is in need of replacement, and the room needs a lick of paint.
I wouldn't stay here again out of choice, and certainly not worth the reduced corporate rate of £74 per night. There are much better appointed hotels for less money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester

Address: East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose & Crown Colchester Hotel Colchester
Best Western Rose And Crown Colchester
Best Western Hotel Colchester
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.