We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lissy birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Brook Red Lion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Colchester
1 review
“Lissy birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great time .nice room staff Very helpful especially casey .need more staff on ridiculous the work she had to do on her own .The evening meal was very good bit of noise from people out all night but nothing to do with the hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    39
    32
    53
See reviews for
20
92
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

DO NOT stay at this hotel, the place is a dirty, smelly rundown hole. Most of my 2 night stay was without running water, the room next door was smashed up during the night. The TV and lights turned themselves on at 2.25 am full blast..!!!

Horrid, horrid hotel. Hotel staff not interested at all.. Just a vile stay..

Room Tip: My tip, do not stay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I delighted in being inside a medieval merchant's house. If I was involved in your marketing there would be far more information about the history of the building. Play to your strengths, tell the story of the house, it has so much to tell. Who lived there, plans, wills, an hour on a genealogy site could discover its Victorian history as well. Many who chose this hotel will do so for the experience of the building, so enhance that experience. The building is old, the floors slope, no one is going to find that anything but charming. You do,however need some hands on high expectation managemernt with your cleaninbg staff. A carpet up the stairs that hasn't appeared to have seen a vacuum cleaner doesn't really make a great impression. If a few curtain hooks have snapped off, make sure your staff replace them. If cleaning staff fail to achieve high standards then, actually, they need to be told and sent back to do it again..Positively, I have nothing but praise for your staff, especially the delightful South African young lady. The room was atmospheric, charming and perfectly quiet. I would have hesitated to spent additional money to pay for internet access in my room though it was free in the public areas. Dont forget that this is an urban area, you can get surrounding stores internet access with absolutely no problem from your room which I did.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

On arriving slightly later than my friends I went to the bar to get a drink only to find their bill lying on the bar with 'table of 10 t**ts written in bold and underlined on it. This was only the start of a terrible evening at the red lion. My friends had already ordered unfortunatly and not actually being of the description by the waiter they did not instantly leave. The food was on average with supermarket value microwave meal and the service although we were the only people there was incredible in its slowness. On asking for the bill and waiting for half an hour to get it found that we had been overcharged by more than double the actual amount. When we questioned the waiter he laughed and said yeah probably. It was at this point we also questioned him about his comment on our bill, which at first he denied then admitted. When we asked to speak to his manager we were told he was away. We pressed further wanting to phone hime. The waiter was gone for at least 10 minutes after which he produced a phone number which strangely noone picked up.
All in all a terrible meal, terrible staff with terrible maths skills.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am concerned to read your review and would like to reassure you that your account of the evening has been investigated thoroughly by myself with the staff involved and the General Manager. The General Manager, Mr Vyas has tried to contact your party on several occasions to discuss this matter personally. The situation you have described is certainly not typical or characteristic of the high level of service that is the norm from the dedicated and experienced team at the Hotel . However , staff illness had left the Hotel unexpectedly understaffed but this is, of course, no excuse for poor levels of service . The problems you encountered and your complaints were recognised at the time and although you have discussed some inaccuracies in the bill in recognition of your dissatisfaction your party was not charged at all for the meal . Mr Vyas our General Manager has also invited your group back to the Hotel ,as contrary to your post ,our Chef prepares all the dishes on the menu daily and with fresh ingredients .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The downsides are no on site parking. You can park in road outside after 6pm and before 8am so ok if you have an early departure. Road sweeping at 4am to 5am. I am in room 5 front of hotel and was woken up this morning so now writing thus review as can't get back to sleep. No toiletries and bathroom clean but in need of refurb.

The positives are friendly staff and bed comfortable. We didn't eat here last night but found a super Italian called favoloso. Too early for breakfast so can't comment.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in room 4 . Room itself was clean but quite claustrophobic . Problem was the neighbouring room had music blaring at midnight in competition with the bar/ nightclub across the road. Night staff nicely asked neighbours to stop noise but bar kept going til 2am followed by drunken shouting at 3 am and very noisy rubbish truck at 5 am. Just what you need on holiday!

Room Tip: Away from the high st frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Required last minute room in Colchester, tried several hotels & eventually found one with a spare room.
Issue was the room (photos included), first found a cigarette butt on the floor & then a pile of human hair on the 2nd twin bed.
In addition to this the shower didn't work, only able to produce scolding hot water.
I would not recommend staying here, it is a very old attractive building & is in dire need of an interior facelift

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Red Lion Hotel

Address: High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Red Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel was built in 1465 and is in the centre of Colchester, Britain's oldest recorded town. The historical building has original Tudor features, including wooden beams.The Red Lion Hotel is one of the oldest inns in the area. The hotel is a short walk from the shops and Colchester Town Rail Station is 500 metres away. Hotel Rooms: 24 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Colchester
Colchester Red Lion
Brook Red Lion Hotel Colchester, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.