We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colchester Zoo

Colchester Zoo
Maldon Road | Stanway, Colchester, Colchester CO3 0SL, England
+44 1206 331292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Colchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colchester Zoo is constantly developing and has won many awards for its work. With over 270 species to see, set in 60 acres of beautiful parkland and lakes, Colchester Zoo is well worth a visit. As you walk around the zoo there's plenty of play areas to try out including the brand new indoor soft play area Jungle Tumble with a section for under 3s and all new play equipment where the kids can release their wild side! New enclosures for 2014 include 'Bears of the Rising Sun', a state of the art enclosure which houses two beautiful sun bears , Jo Jo and Srey Ya and 'Australian Rainbows', a new tropical walkthrough which houses a large group of lorikeets offering visitors a chance to feed them a treat of nectar. You can also come face to face with Komodo Dragons, see white rhino, giraffes, ostrich and kudu roaming together at Kingdom of the Wild and walk underwater through the 24m tunnel at the Playa Patagonia sealion pool. Learn more about the animals and see them up close by watching one of the 50 daily displays. You even get the fantastic opportunity to feed the elephants and giraffes yourself and take a ride on the 'Lost Madagascar Express' road train! Don't forget to pop into the discovery centre and have a go at handling some unusual bugs or get your face painted and transform yourself into your favourite animal!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a fabulous place to visit, we didn't stop all day and didn't leave until closing time. Will definitely be visiting again in the very near future to take my husband. Children loved it and ranged from 7 yrs to 13 years plenty to do and see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,203
    379
    67
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Take a trip to Colchester Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Colchester Zoo is a great family day out with plenty to do. There are many areas to sit down and grab something to eat. You can feed the animals at designated times and they have special events going on at different times of the day and year. I fully recommend going to the zoo as it is well worth the money.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Colchester Zoo is in my opinion one of the best in the country we have held gold cards for the past 3 years and I would recommend these to anyone looking to visit more than 3 times in a year it also means that if you are half way round and the heavens open or the little ones get tired you don't begrudge leaving early having paid £14+ for an adult ticket.

The enclosures are constantly being improved and updated and there is a good mix of education and fun.

The demonstrations, feedings and presentations are informative and done in a way that appeals to all from 9 months to 90.

Food can be a little pricey we found the best value to be the fresh chicken wraps from the wrap stand however there are also several areas should you wish to take a picnic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SUPER DAY OUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited on a Monday with our daughter and grandson who had just turned six. Unfortunately, we had to leave early due to an appointment because there is so much there to see. We particularly enjoyed the sealion tunnel although all the enclosures are good and well maintained. The zoo is hilly but there are ramps rather than stairs which makes it accessible to all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Screech week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have been visiting the zoo for over 30 years, but on this occasion we took our grandchildren on the first night of their Halloween Screech week. The children aged 13, 11 and 8 loved it. We had a real fright when walking through the Haloween trail in the Education Centre when a Werewolf, complete with machette lurched out of the exhibits howling like a banshee and I have never seen such evil looking clowns in all my life. It was hard to tell which were the dummy exhbitis and which were the "human horrors". WE didn't do the halloween train ride - queue much too long and much too cold to continue hanging about. From an adult point of view some of the "attractions" were a little disappointing and I kind of felt sorry for some of the animals that were kept awake by artificial light and of course many of the usual animal attractions were off limits - but it was different and it was fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colchester Zoo also viewed

 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Colchester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colchester Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.