We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent main course!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Siege House

The Old Siege House
75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
+44 1206 973371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 363 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Contemporary, Brasserie, Bistro, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Here at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie we provide an a la carte dining experience in an ambient atmosphere at a very reasonable price. If you are looking for quality food, book your table today!
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent main course!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening My main described as Smoked Duck Tartar was disappointing the duck was irregularly cubed and not finely prepared by knife as any tartar should be, however my partner enjoyed her Goats cheese!

We both had fish for main and again her Salmon was competently prepared however I ordered Open Seafood Lasagne and what a treat it turned out to be full of flavours and a very generous portion too! Service good, bit of a wait between course's but we were in no rush!
But for my starter would have been four (4) stars, either get it right or remove from the menu would be my advise! On second thoughts there are better ways to present smoked duck than this sorry attempt at tartar!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not usual high standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The nine of us have been a number of times and always found very good service and food.
This time, Sunday lunch , however disappointed,we feel because the Manager was out until 4pm.Coats were taken and starters and wine ordered OK but there was a long wait till main course The roast beef however was so tough the three who had it could not eat it;To be fair the other mains were good. To follow, the apple crumble was good, but one of the party asked for a simple vanilla ice cream to be told this ran out a couple of days ago. A good discount was negotiated so overall we were satisfied but will have to consider calling again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still my favourite in Colchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On a horrible, cold, wet and snowy day I decided we deserved a treat. Called to reserve a table at 6, for 6.15... No problem.

We arrived laden with shopping, cold and wet. Taken straight to a table in lovely cosy spot, wet coats taken away to dry. Our waitress was charming and attentive from now until we left, she is an asset to the restaurant.

Viognier/ Chardonnay I selected was delicious and v reasonably priced. We had scallops and duck tartar to start. Both divine, scallops could have been a bit warmer.

Mains were seafood lasagne and rib eye steak. My steak was gorgeous. Seared on the outside, rare but warm in the middle. Perfect. Rather a lot of water coming out of mushroom over plate and it didn't really add much in terms of flavour. Seafood lasagne, I am assured, was very good.

Dessert. A blackberry creme brûlée and chocolate fondant with brandy and grappa ordered. Creme brûlée arrived with what I was assured was the best shortbread ever! Unfortunately chocolate fondant suddenly became unavailable and I was offered chocolate brownie as an alternative. It was ok, but did not live up to previous courses. Bland, not gooey enough, my restaurant at work serves better I am afraid. However, our waitress gave us another complimentary digestif as compensation so after wine and two brandies, I was ok about Chocolate Gate.

One thing, and it is a pet hate of mine. Please don't ask me if I want black pepper before I have even tasted my food. Just put some on the table. Can I have some salt too?! However good your chef, we all have different palates. I find it patronising and arrogant that I am not automatically given the means with which to season my own food.

Overall, will be back. Was a lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“High Expectations but did not quite deliver this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My family and I visited this restaurant on Sunday 3rd March to celebrate my sisters 40th birthday. Both Dad and I had read various trip adviser reviews beforehand and had really high expectations. Now don't get me wrong we had a lovely afternoon and perhaps our expectations were too high because of some of the reviews we had read. The restaurant itself is really nicely presented and well laid out with ample space around everyone but I have to say in my opinion is not geared up for families or children. My sister has a 5 month old baby and there were no baby changing facilities and when we ordered a fruit squash for our 5 year old son it was served in a glass so tall that when he took a sip through the straw it started a siphoning action and covered him in blackcurrant juice every time he finished sipping. We were sat in the window in front of a large radiator and it was quite a sunny day and as a result it was uncomfortably hot as a result but to be fair to staff as soon as we mentioned it they were able to open a small window which provided some relief. When it came to ordering we were told several dishes were unavailable which given it was 1pm on a Sunday was disappointing, once again on the theme of not being child friendly there was no child's menu or prices. A few of us chose the Brie in breadcrumbs for starter and it was stunning but for the children we ended up asking for some bread as there was nothing on the menu that was suitable or appealed to them. For main I chose Lamb shanks which were very generously sized and the meat just fell off the bone and tasted beautiful my only criticism was that it was luke warm and not piping hot. Dessert was hazelnut cheesecake and again it did not disappoint. For 6 adults and 2 children our total bill was just over £200 so was pretty good value. I have to praise the staff and management for the lovely atmosphere that they created we were not rushed through courses and were there for over 3 hours in the end and even then had to chase for the bill. I would definitely go again but next time with my wife and no children. Whilst our children loved finding the old bullet holes in the walls and the occasion of the family all being together they did not enjoy the meal as much, and we are still trying to get blackcurrant stains out of my sons best shirt.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went with 3 others for a sunday lunch. Bit upset that the sunday menu not as variable as during the week. However although no fish available when mentioned waitress went out of her way to obtain grilled cod which was very tasty. 2 of us had the cod and the other 2 had lamb and chicken. All well presented and good flavour and tender. Varied usual deserts all well presented. Reasonable charges for food and wine

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siege House also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Old Siege House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Siege House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.