We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay with a couple of hiccups!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Colchester Central

Premier Inn Colchester Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Colchester Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Colchester Central
Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Colchester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great stay with a couple of hiccups!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with 2 friends on Dec 7th while attending an evening event in the city centre. We were greeted on reception by the friendly and professional Sarah. She was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were spotless, large and comfortable, on the ground floor around the corner from reception. The Sunday morning my roommate and I noticed a leak coming from underneath the bath and reported this to Sarah who said it would be taken care of ASAP but as we were then leaving it was too late for our stay.

We had a fabulous breakfast in the pub next door where the serving staff were equally as pleasant. After leaving the hotel my roommate realised she had lost a valuable ring and was really quite upset. We rang the hotel and Sarah walked down to the room while I was on the phone and spoke to someone who was presumably cleaning the room. They found the ring within 10 secs......we were so relieved and retuned to pick it up. We then decided to buy some coffees in the pub next door & were quite surprised that the containers were only half full only to be told that this was how the machine measured them. If we wanted full cups, 2 coffees would cost £10.00..........a very steep price!!

Apart from the leak and the coffees we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
44
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Friendly hotel reception staff on arrival and premier inn room as expected - nice size, comfy bed, sofa, desk , flat screen TV. Shower was good. Only rated average becasue room temperature (with the room controlled heating switched off!) was far too high - so hot it made it very hard to sleep the first night, the second night we did our best to cool the room down and had a slightly better sleep and toilet in the room did not flush properly. Both are things that should be right in a hotel so was a bit disappointed. Breakfast the first morning was terrible - inedible eggs and very slow seating and topping up of food and drinks. The second morning it was like a totally different place - there was a very on the ball young man who seemd to keep everyting going and topped everything up and was quick and friendly about it - he took our complaint about bad service and cooking the day before very nicely and even popped back to cheeck our cooked breakfasts were ok this time despite the fact he was very busy. Car park on site always seemed to have a few spaces available and hotel is a few minutes walk from a leisure centre complex with bowling etc and about 15 minute walk into the town. Taxi for 6 later in the evening into town was £8-9. Would not recommend and evening meal at the adjoining Beefeater.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This premier inn was very clean, great helpful staff. with these hotels you know what your going to get and for the money I cant fault them.
we went to the pub next door for food which was OK nothing special but I always say you get what you pay for.
overall very nice comfortable, clean and tidy hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This seems neutral wording but actually it’s a compliment – “The usual Premier Inn standard – Comfy bed, good-sized room, good value for money. Hearty breakfast; nothing at all to complain about”. One of the older Premier Inns with shower over bath (OK unless you’re compromised in some way) and with a Beefeater restaurant next door offering good value food. We were right at the back and it was very quiet – looking at the layout I think you would be unlucky indeed to be disturbed by noise. I was impressed to be rung the day before the stay to check that everything for the planned trip was in order. Apparently it’s now company policy only to provide one hand towel which is a step in the wrong direction. The loo flush push button was a trial for elderly and arthritic fingers and it was hard to flush the loo properly. Else, as I said before, “Nothing to complain about”.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Staff at this hotel exceeded my expectations, however had problem will room temperature during stay. The standard of Cleanliness and presentation was above average. The Most important thing for me was that that the family room had been well prepared prior to my arrival. Overall a pleasant and acceptable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

First the only good point- the reception staff were friendly & attentive . Our room was at the front of the hotel next to a busy main road, sleep was frequently disturbed by emergency service vehicles throughout our stay .
Dinner in the adjacent Beefeater was good- when it eventually arrived after asking our waitress if our order had been placed
Breakfast was supposed to be the usual buffet style but we found we had to order our food which eventually turned up over cooked & cold , we had to request hot water for drinks & the table with cereals etc was dirty in fairness there appeared to be only one waitress for the entire dining room this morning .Definitely not the standard of service we have come to expect from previous stays at other Premier Inns . We wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

first stay in colchester, lovely place to eat drink and shop, hotel very clean , the staff in the beefeater next door and also in the hotel ,were very helpful and friendly , breakfast really good , premier inns get better you get what you pay for , never stayed in a bad one , this one is close to the centre of colchester , with a lovely walk through the park .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Colchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Colchester Central

Address: Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Colchester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Colchester Central Hotel Colchester
Premier Inn Colchester Central Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Colchester Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.