We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know what your getting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Colchester Central

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Colchester Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Colchester Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Colchester Central
Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Colchester
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“You know what your getting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This premier inn was very clean, great helpful staff. with these hotels you know what your going to get and for the money I cant fault them.
we went to the pub next door for food which was OK nothing special but I always say you get what you pay for.
overall very nice comfortable, clean and tidy hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
36
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This seems neutral wording but actually it’s a compliment – “The usual Premier Inn standard – Comfy bed, good-sized room, good value for money. Hearty breakfast; nothing at all to complain about”. One of the older Premier Inns with shower over bath (OK unless you’re compromised in some way) and with a Beefeater restaurant next door offering good value food. We were right at the back and it was very quiet – looking at the layout I think you would be unlucky indeed to be disturbed by noise. I was impressed to be rung the day before the stay to check that everything for the planned trip was in order. Apparently it’s now company policy only to provide one hand towel which is a step in the wrong direction. The loo flush push button was a trial for elderly and arthritic fingers and it was hard to flush the loo properly. Else, as I said before, “Nothing to complain about”.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Staff at this hotel exceeded my expectations, however had problem will room temperature during stay. The standard of Cleanliness and presentation was above average. The Most important thing for me was that that the family room had been well prepared prior to my arrival. Overall a pleasant and acceptable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

First the only good point- the reception staff were friendly & attentive . Our room was at the front of the hotel next to a busy main road, sleep was frequently disturbed by emergency service vehicles throughout our stay .
Dinner in the adjacent Beefeater was good- when it eventually arrived after asking our waitress if our order had been placed
Breakfast was supposed to be the usual buffet style but we found we had to order our food which eventually turned up over cooked & cold , we had to request hot water for drinks & the table with cereals etc was dirty in fairness there appeared to be only one waitress for the entire dining room this morning .Definitely not the standard of service we have come to expect from previous stays at other Premier Inns . We wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

first stay in colchester, lovely place to eat drink and shop, hotel very clean , the staff in the beefeater next door and also in the hotel ,were very helpful and friendly , breakfast really good , premier inns get better you get what you pay for , never stayed in a bad one , this one is close to the centre of colchester , with a lovely walk through the park .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our second stay here and it was even better this time. We paid £37 for the night. A real bargain. Staff, room, breakfast all excellent. Premier inns just get better each time we stay in one. The quality and comfort beat many top class hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided to have a 1 night stay in Colchester and wanted somewhere central and reasonably priced, the Premier Inn Central ticked all the boxes. The room was clean, well presented, light and airy with flat screen tv and tea & coffee making facilities. The bed was really comfortable and roomy. The staff were excellent, polite and interested in us and our requirements.
There were no real negatives, we expected a bit of traffic noise given the location but actually it was not bad. The light in the bathroom was not very bright but didn't cause any problems, we just reported it when we left.
Lovely breakfast provided by the Beefeater next door.

Room Tip: We booked online but when we got there the staff gave us a room near the back to minimise any traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Colchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Colchester Central

Address: Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Colchester
#2 Business Hotel in Colchester
#2 Family Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Colchester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Colchester Central Hotel Colchester
Premier Inn Colchester Central Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Colchester Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.