We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The North Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The North Hill Hotel to your Saves list
The North Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A top notch hotel with excellent facilities and very competent staff. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed+ very comfortable bed, nice chill out bar downstairs, free wi-fi.

Parking outside is possible at certain times an added bonus. Night porter for those returning late.

One of the best hotels in Colchester + very close to all the action.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Observer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are to stay in Colchester this hotel is central and give value for money. A typical small town hotel with its charm. The rooms are not too small and have all you need. My room had also a nice standard bathroom. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisende0Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We decided to stay at the North Hill after reading all the positive reviews.

From the moment we arrived it all became clear. Friendly genuine welcome, lovely clean modern room, obliging staff, great location. This hotel has it all.

After dinner in the lovely restaurant our 2 year old son went straight to bed, with us longing for some desert. We didn't elect room service as to not wake him, and instead asked for takeaway from the restaurant. The staff were super happy to help, offering me a beer while the desert was carefully prepared, and even giving me a special tray to make it easy to carry to our room. Amazing service.

I also overheard the staff while the desert was coming out, and could tell by their positive comments between each other that this is a great place to work - with them genuinely taking pride in what they do.

Fantastic!

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear if the hotel which was whisper quiet
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a family reunion here Saturday lunchtime/afternoon to celebrate my father's 80th birthday. The main attraction initially was the private function room, as my father cannot hear well if there is background noise and we also wanted to be able to move places between courses; it turned out to be absolutely ideal - a wonderful facility. Multiple tables were arranged as a single large one, allowing all 14 of us to sit around it together; that evening we saw the room rearranged to accommodate about twice the number for another birthday party. Staff members were, without exception, a delight; endlessly helpful, patient and calm, with a sense of humour and clear appreciation that it was a special event for us. We were there for 3 1/2 hours; we chose from the a la carte menu, and the food was delicious. Seven of us stayed at the hotel overnight, a couple in each of the mini-suites, which were lovely characterful rooms (note that they are up a winding staircase and have multiple floor levels within the suite, which could be a significant problem for those with limited mobility), two in a twin room and one in a double; all were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and options included my particular favourite - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with muffins. The one thing that marred our visit was no fault of the hotel; unfortunately neighbours in the room next to the first floor mini-suite returned to their room very noisily at 3 am, howling(!), banging on the walls and generally crashing about, which woke all the rest of us in that wing - hence the mark down for sleep quality.

Room Tip: Beware varying floor levels in Room 34 (minisuite); it is an absolutely lovely room - airy, with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanea104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed overnight one night. The room was not very exciting but was clean and airy. The staff very much made an impression though. The reception staff, waitresses and housekeepers all appeared professional, relaxed, friendly and cheerful. The food in the restaurant was lovely - a wide variety and reasonably priced. They cheerfully accommodated us even though we were 40 minutes late for our reservation. Very good value for money. We are very glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickyvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've tried every hotel in Colchester over the years now I always book into this one, very welcoming, polite friendly staff, spotlessly clean and comfortable and right in the town. For an over night business trip it's the best one in Colchester by some way.

if your over 6 ft just mind your head at the top of the stairs, apart from that can't recommend it enough

Room Tip: Go for one at the back, its a town centre location and the buses run right past the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regularhoteluser257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff at this hotel are particularly helpful. The food is good. We had a full English breakfast without any grease on the plate. Very light and very tasty! The room was fine. The room and bathroom were clean although a bit of a squash for two messy females! The wine is good too. Location wise, very central so that's an attraction. We managed to find parking outside the hotel but may be a bit busy on this road with restrictions during the week. I would go back and can definitely recommend the hotel,

Room Tip: Book in advance so to ensure the nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
7.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
2.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#13 of 22 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hill Hotel

Address: 51 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colchester
#3 Business Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The North Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The North Hill Hotel we strive to provide a convenient and friendly place to stay in the heart of the old Roman Capital city which is full of character, but softened behind a modern clean exterior. We are commited to giving a consistant friendly service to all our guests in a way which will surpass any previous expectations of value in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The North Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hill Colchester
The North Hill Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing