We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Sevens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Sevens Guest House
Save
You added Four Sevens Guest House to your Saves list
28 Inglis Road, Colchester CO3 3HU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Colchester B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best guest house I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My colleague and I stayed here for one night. We where so impressed with the size and standard of rooms . We received a lovely welcome from
Calypso. ( lemon cake on arrival) . The breakfast was so big and delicious . I had such a great nights sleep , bed very comfy. I would recommend and if I had to return to Colchester again I would definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sheena,
Thank you so much for your very kind words.
All the best.
C Demetri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
14
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My family and I stayed for the first time with Calypso at her beautiful house some 19 years ago. It was love from the first sight! We have never thought to stay somewhere else in Colchester since 1994!!!
We can warmly recommend you the Four sevens! We will really feel at home there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, Cheshire.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Calypso - yes that really is the landlady's name - was so welcoming and thoughtful.
She showed us to our room - beautifully appointed and overlooking the garden - and by the time we had brought our bags in from the car, there were 2 HUGE pieces of homemade chocolate fudge cake waiting for us. The next day, after a wonderful breakfast, we went for a day out. On our return, the room had been cleaned and towels changed, and we had homemade apple & almond cake - divine.
Everything about this guest house was first class and I would recommend staying here to everyone - a real 'Home from Home".

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautifully appointed, but I would definitely pay that little bit extra for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had an extended stay here for business and the hosts could not have been more helpful. Chocolate brownies on arrival, great en suite room, great breakfast and they even ran me to work every morning. Above and beyond the call of duty, I can't recommend a stay here highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came here only by chance as another B&B owner recommended us to stay here. As soon as we arrived, Mrs Demetri greeted us with a big smile and a warm welcome. She was lovely and thoughtful enough to give us some of her homemade cake on arrival. She was very helpful and kind and couldn't do enough for us, she even gave us a lift to Colchester Castle. She went beyond what you would normally expect of a landlady of a B&B.
The rooms were nice and clean and spacious and warrrrm! It is only about a 10 to 15 minute walk away from the centre of Colchester and the breakfast provided in the price was good.
We would stay here again and recommend anyone visiting Colchester to stay to Four Sevens Guest House. Me and my husband didn't even want to leave, that's how nice it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Mrs Demetri made an excellent stay even better by providing chocolate cake for supper above and beyond providing clean accommodation, ample hot water and comfortable rooms at appropriate prices. Breakfast was excellent and in an environment which allowed either privacy or conversation, whichever was preferred.

If there is a criticism, it is that Marmite was unavailable at breakfast. In my view, that was a positive rather than negative. The bathroom mirror was pitched at an average height which made this above average tall guy have difficulty shaving but that's o k.

A stay at Four Seven's, quite apart from a good night's sleep, enables one to meet like minded people and make new friends. What more can one ask?

K.

Room Tip: Ours was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejgirling1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the Four Sevens and would highly recommend it! The couple who run it are sooooooo lovely, she even gave me and my boyfriend a huge piece of homemade Bakewell Pudding, (which when I told her I have a cafe in Bakewell she almost had a panic attack...but it was one of the best Bakewell Puds iv had!!) The rooms were so open, clean, spacious and the bed was so comfy. Oh and the breakfast was immense! Thank you so much xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Lovely young couple.Thank you for the review and the kind comments for the Bakewell !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Sevens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sevens Guest House

Address: 28 Inglis Road, Colchester CO3 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sevens Guesthouse is a very large and spacious Victorian house which has only just recently undergone a full refurbishment of all its rooms and facilities. The Four Sevens Guesthouse is situated in a quiet location within a few minutes stroll from the centre of town. We are also a short bus ride away from both railway stations and the University of Essex and a few minutes walk from Colchester Study Centre and the Colchester InstituteThe large airy and bright rooms have been modernised to a very high standard. They are equipped with:• Hospitality trays• LCD TVs with freeview/sky and DVD players.• Free Wi Fi access. Warm and friendly reception and generous breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Sevens Guest House Colchester, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Sevens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.