We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dim sum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banquet 1408

Banquet 1408
342 London Road, Colchester CO3 8LT, England
+44 1206 211588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 363 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Visited with friend for lunch, although we had no booking the staff were friendly and we were given a table straightaway although they were busy. Have only been in the evening before, but can recommend the lunchtime dim sum selection. The Dragon Buns were great, and the waiter was very helpful over food variety and quantity to order. The capital ribs sauce is superb, and I think this has always been my best experience of Chinese food in north Essex. It's good to know the lunchtime menu is up to their usual high standard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We visited with two young children and had Dim Sum. The staff were friendly, and it was nice to see oriental decor that was still very modern. The food was delicious, we had Prawn Cheung fun, Prawn Siu Mai, Char Siu Buns, Spring rolls, Beef Ho Fun with black bean sauce, Egg Fried rice. I have eaten at lots of chinese restaurants, so I know the dry sensation you get when there is alot of MSG in the food, but I couldn't taste MSG in any of the dishes. (The only tiny gripe I have is there was a tiny amount of egg in the Egg fried rice). It was nice to see that they had left a small gap between bookings as we could see people leaving, and then a few minutes later the next customers would arrive and be seated. The management in chinese restaurants tend to cram bookings in, and therefore the waiters are rushed,and hover over you to clear plates and throw the bill at you. Not here though, as it felt very leisurely. The atmosphere was nice as there were plenty of diners but it wasn't too noisy. We will definitely be coming back as we think it is reasonably priced, and delicious food. We were over due a place in Essex with good Dim Sum!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love the Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The best Chinese restaurant in Colchester (though technically it is just outside). I love the food, The service is good (though at times while it can be better, it has never been something I would feel the need to complain about). We have been there many times and will continue to go there in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverhill
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday evening from the a la carte menu. Our meals were served very quickly. The crispy duck was amazing! The king prawn toast was so much better than any other I have ever had. Our mains were delicious, the pork was tender and not chewy at all and the curry had a nice kick without being too spicy. The homemade desserts are worth saving room for.
Staff were friendly and attentive, there seemed to be a lot of regulars here talking to the staff which I think is a good sign. The restaurant is a little isolated and set back with prices a little high but the quality is worth paying for.
This restaurant has set the benchmark for other Chinese restaurants

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is by far the best Chinese restaurant in the area and better than most in China town. The fact that it is usually full of Chinese people should tell you all you need to know. Friendly service and great food. They have a no children policy in the evening but that s fine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banquet 1408 also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Banquet 1408? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banquet 1408, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.