We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banquet 1408

Banquet 1408
342 London Road, Colchester CO3 8LT, England
+44 1206 211588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 362 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've had a couple take-aways from Banquet over the past couple of years - and although they were more expensive than your average Chinese takeaway, the quality was evident in the taste. So, we decided to try out a proper sit-down meal at the restaurant after that. Firstly, you definitely need to book for a Saturday night - it was busy but the staff were very calm and attentive amongst the hub-hub of the room. We were not disappointed at all - the food was excellent quality and we were able to take home what we couldn't eat from our set menu. You could tell that the prawn toast was freshly made as it was thick with prawns...yum! The staff's attention to detail is second to none. If you live anywhere within 15 miles of Colchester it is worth the visit - you won't be disappointed....but remember to book first!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    36
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I visit this restaurant regularly and always have good service and fabulous food. It is a bit pricier than your average Chinese restaurant but well worth paying the extra for. There is plenty of parking and I would advise booking a table on a fri and sat night as it gets very busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very classy Chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The restaurant is very modern and the decor very tasteful. The service was superb. The waiters were very attentive even placing the cotton napkins on our laps. The food was really excellent, but expensive. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. We wish that we lived closer to Banquet 1408 so that we could frequent it every week. There is an excellent car park at the rear of the premises.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would have been nice to try......if they would have let us in....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Read all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and thought it would be worth checking this place out. Unfortunately (for us...) they will not allow Children under 7 into the restaurant past 19.30. I wonder why? Generally, kids make less noise than semi-drunk adults on a Friday evening........How do you want two working professionals to make it to your restaurant before 19.30? Ridiculous policy....Thanks for ruining our night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a pleasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is the one we always come back to. Food is excellent, as is the service. You are not sitting in cramped conditions there is loads of room around each table. This is our choice for all our occasions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banquet 1408 also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Banquet 1408? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banquet 1408, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.