We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been nice to try......if they would have let us in....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banquet 1408

Banquet 1408
342 London Road, Colchester CO3 8LT, England
+44 1206 211588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 381 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would have been nice to try......if they would have let us in....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Read all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and thought it would be worth checking this place out. Unfortunately (for us...) they will not allow Children under 7 into the restaurant past 19.30. I wonder why? Generally, kids make less noise than semi-drunk adults on a Friday evening........How do you want two working professionals to make it to your restaurant before 19.30? Ridiculous policy....Thanks for ruining our night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    43
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a pleasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is the one we always come back to. Food is excellent, as is the service. You are not sitting in cramped conditions there is loads of room around each table. This is our choice for all our occasions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Chinese doesn't get better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I know I've reviewed The Banquet before but it's enduing excellence is worth telling people about. I reviewed it in December last year, having been there many, may times, and I have been there three times since that review.
The standards just don't slip and it's a real favourite of ours and all our friends. My previous review talked about the food and the service, so I'm not going to go on about that. I simply wanted to say that it consistently serves excellent food and we haven't ever eaten better Chinese food.
Some may say it's quite pricey. Well possibly it is, but when you get food as good as this every time you visit that really doesn't matter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food you will ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is consistently the best Chinese food we have ever eaten, even including Chinatown in London!

The restaurant is usually booked so you probably need to reserve, especially at the weekends, but it is well worth it.

The service is also excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited 1408 this weekend to celebrate 2 family birthdays the welcome was friendly with all of the staff making a real fuss of our 18 month old. Drinks orders were taken an quickly arrived as we looked over the extensive menu we opted for one of the set menus which offer amazing value we began with a mixed started including ribs, prawn toast, seaweed, chicken satay and spring rolls all perfectly cooked the satay was really very good and not at all dry as can sometimes be the case. After a short pause we moved on to the next course of crispy duck again the portion size was very generous and the duck delicious. The main course was served with each of us given a bowl of rice and a wooden pail of rice added to the middle of the table for us to help ourselves to more from all of the dishes were very good the highlights being the sizzling prawns and the pork with lemongrass. After this feast we were all too stuffed to have dessert although the staff did bring out 2 bowls with a scoop of ice cream and a candle for the 2 birthdays we had in our group which was a really nice touch.

The weekend dim sum menu looked amazing and I can't wait for an excuse to visit again and try this menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banquet 1408 also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Banquet 1408? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banquet 1408, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.