We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Globe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Globe Hotel to your Saves list
Globe Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Colchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My colleague and I booked a twin room for £75 which we were told would be fine to accommodate two people. When we arrived after hours, I was greeted by the porter on duty who tried to explain that my friend had not made a booking. After spotting his name on the list I pointed it out to the porter, he said that the booking was only for a single room and that I would have to pay another £75 for my own room if I wanted to stay and that it would have to be by CASH!

Well, I was outraged as you can imagine, this guy was clearly a crook after some extra money so I refused to stay at the hotel altogether and explained that I will be writing this review! My colleague actually stayed on in the room (as he couldn't get a refund). I meanwhile, ended up finding the last available room in a local b&b.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
1
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Suffolk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed one night in July 2013 and were absolutely delighted both with our room and the very friendly staff and owner we met during our stay. I understand that the Star Anglia side of the business (the hotel is split between two buildings either side of an entry road to the hotel car park) has recently been extensively refurbished. We stayed in one of the most recently completed rooms and had a massive double bed in a large room which overlooks the hotel's (again, newly completed) terrace. The room had everything we needed, including a large flatscreen TV and tea/coffee making facilities - as well as a fridge. Our bathroom was not huge, but very well appointed. The terrace below has a number of tables and chairs with parasols and lots of attractive potted plants and is a great place to unwind. The hotel has plenty of car parking spaces in a gated carpark, with additional spaces available in an overflow area.

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and the owner a delightful lady who, when we were waiting for a taxi to take us out for the evening, offered us a cup of tea whilst we waited. I really felt that the team there were keen to do anything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. All in all we felt we had made a great find - and the price of a room was very competitive by comparison with other hotels in Colchester.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 218 - it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent room in Star - Anglia , helpful and friendly staff , fantastic restaurant
I have stayed here for 3 days each working week since mid-February !
Drinking chocolate in the room , Sky Sports News and it would be purfect .

Room Tip: Have a room at the back as main road is busy at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and the first thing i noticed was that the room was an ice-box. They tried to alter the heating but nevertheless it turned off at 11.30pm. The temperature outside was pushing -5 degrees which made for an uncomfortable stay. They had installed a circuit breaker box in the room which made a constant buzzing. When i went to turn this off, it set off the fire alarm for 2 mins and an emergency light came on in the room. I was able to cover the light but obviously then had no power to charge phone etc. Its basically a straight choice between being kept up by the noise or the light. We stayed in the 'new' wing of the hotel which is possibly the explanation for the teething problems, and the staff were pleasant enough on the rare occasions they were around.

Breakfast was 'Continental' ie Coco Pops and stale croissant. The pot of milk contained 1/2 pint of milk so obviously they dont anticipate many guests partaking of this meagre fayre.

Finally, the bed was not made every day and tea/ biscuits not replenished which you would expect of even the most basic hostelry. As there was no evidence of any other guests staying at the time it's not like they were rushed off their feet.

The hotel did have some good aspects like big TV and comfy bed but its the bad things i will remember.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

On 2 occasions I have stayed in this hotel due to working in the area. I had to work in an office block out of hours so didn't get to the hotel until late.
The toilet/shower is a small plastic box, the door would not stay shut unless you locked it from the outside. Despite being advertised, I stayed in 2 different rooms, there was no hair dryer.
Light bulbs hade blown and not been replaced. One light in one room had 3 bulbs with 2 blown. I went to plug in the kettle and found the electrical socket broken. In one room, the curtains would not close. This window was opposite another room with the occupants keeping their light on all night. There was also a small roof between these rooms which was full of cigarette butts. Very noisy other occupants seemed to be having a party in the room above mine. All in all, not the best experience of this hotel. Remember, little things count.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently our staff stayed at globe hotel colchester. Staff are excellent, helpful, lovely facilities, very good reception. Excellent value for money. our staff will use this hotel when we visit colchester.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently i stayed at Globe Hotel on 01/11/2012. The hotel is so nice and good excellent valu for the money, clean room and friendly staff who is ready to help you anytime. I had my dinner in restaurant in down the hotel which i enjoyed, the food is fantastic and lovely. Hope to go and stay for few nights in the new year. Excellent location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Globe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Address: 71 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Colchester, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.