We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years eve party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham

Save Saved
You added Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Way, Catcliffe Rotherham, Rotherham S60 5BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Rotherham
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“new years eve party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

went to new years party advertised as a magical winter wonderland didn't see any magical decorations the the food was was awful the lamb was raw not edible sent it back had to go looking for 25mins later gave it to someone else the place used was aconferance room had to go toanother room for the disco which doubles up as the breakfast room not enough tables and chairs to sit down would not recommend the party nights

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Raymond A,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor, feedback from our guests is always appreciated and although on this occasion the feedback has some negative points I would like to thank you for rating other areas of the hotel so highly.

The New Years Eve event was attended by over 140 people and we have received largely positive feedback, however there is always room for improvement and your comments will be used to ensure the our 2014/2015 event is more spectacular.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    117
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
247
25
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Rooms nice and comfy. But would not attend another new years eve party due to the meal, it was terrible and not enough staff to serve. Our party of 18 were still hungry due to not eating what was provided. Would not recommend for new year, but would recommend the rooms.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Dawn R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor in addition to your response to our post stay survey.

As in my personal reply to you it is always a disappointment to myself and the team when we learn that some of our guests have not enjoyed their stay as much as others and I truly hope you will accept our apologies that on this occasion the evening did not live up to your expectations.

We will be conducting a full de-brief of the festive events held at the hotel and your comments will be taken on board and used to assist in improving the delivery of our 2014 calendar.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Came for New Years celebrations 2012 & 2013. Lovey modern hotel with spacious rooms and giant comfy beds. However this year it was over booked meaning the food service took a while leaving us less time to enjoy the disco before midnight. Food was good, good choice at breakfast. Friendly staff who were running round as there wasn't enough of them for the amount of people booked in!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in September when attending a conference in Sheffield. I was simply looking for a nice hotel close to the motorway for airport access with free parking.

The Aston delivered on all of the above and complemented it with friendly staff, efficient service and a clean modern room.

I'd happily recommend the hotel for business travelers or as a stopover hotel to break a journey.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels through 2013 and found that the Aston hotel in Rotherham to be one of my most comfortable and enjoyable hotel stays of the year. As I was on a business conference the food was served in a buffet format and was really great... Lots of hot and cold choices all cooked to perfection. My room was large and comfortable as we'll... It all looked new, and the bathroom fittings were high-end.
In all a really great location, lovely hotel and friendly staff, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice rooms, clean hotel, pleasant staff, good location, excellent price. It seemed too good to be true and I was looking for the catch but couldn't find one!

The only minor fault was that the room was cold initially. It took around an hour of warm air conditioning to heat it up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely clean hotel with big rooms. Stayed here with friends for the murder mystery weekend. The only problem we found with hotel was that it was rather cold, others also complained of this. But on the good side the staff were all lovely and accomodating, and the breakfast was great. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham

Address: Britannia Way, Catcliffe Rotherham, Rotherham S60 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Aston Hotel, Sheffield opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Brasserie provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Aston Hotel, Sheffield as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.