We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham

Save Saved
You added Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Way, Catcliffe Rotherham, Rotherham S60 5BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Rotherham
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a really nice hotel and in a good position. It's waseas y to get to and find. Nice and quiet as there is nothing around only a car lot next door. A short drive to the retail park where you can park up all day for free and get the tram into Sheffield. Staff were really nice and always eager to help. Rooms were clean and very nice and modern. Food was nice and plentiful. Nothin bad to say about this hotel at all, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review. I am delighted that you found us easy to find and a good base to get around from. We do work very hard to ensure that we consistently deliver great service and value and it is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their time with us.
Thank you again for the review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    117
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
247
25
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have been staying at the Aston hotel a few times now when attending events in and around the Rotherham and Sheffield area......this hotel is great......clean, new, fresh and the food and service is excellent. I will stay in no other hotel when in that region !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review. I am really very pleased that you enjoy your time with us - it is always a pleasure to have you here! Thank you very much for choosing us in the first instance and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here on a travel zoo weekend , what a super value deal. On arrival Sam on reception was helpful and so friendly making us feel so welcome. the room was spotless modern with plenty of room.Our first night meal was included in deal our waitress Becky was lovely and so pleaseant food was very good so we booked second night at a super price.The whole team was a credit to the hotel Nicole , Craig, Lloyd ,Kirstyand bar man.Lisa needs to be a little more proffesional as pulling facesand talking about guests was a little off putting.
Tickets into Chatswotrh House were also included then a packed lunch (which was lovely) and walking maps.
The whole weekend was super and excellent value i would reccommend this hotel to any one visiting that area.We will sure to be back thankyou.

Room Tip: only three floors , we were on 3rd floor think all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for the great review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your break and that so many staff made such a good impression. I am very grateful that you chose to stay with us and on behalf of the entire staff here I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

On arrival the greeting is friendly and service is quick. The hotel is very clean and immaculate as you would expect in a fairly new hotel and there ar very comfortable lounge seats you can sink into and enjoy a little tipple or two.
The rooms are very well designed with modern furniture, spacious, and a fairly unique step in shower cubicle. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep. The decor is excellent and the bathrooms beautifully fitted out.
Although there are no amenities close by; the hotel is ideal for the business traveller - especially as there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel (handy for Face Time). For other travellers it is very reasonable place for getting around assuming you have a car as the connection to the motorway is only minutes away - but note this varies with the time of day. Home time does mean a few queues so some planning is required. Note: the car park is free and in the main very well lit.
As there is a large business park only a minute's drive away this hotel is clearly ideal for visitors; even if only for a conference or a meal. The food and service is good, although I would have preferred an individual pot of tea rather the the vacuum flask container, The tea was okay. albeit I was not offered a top-up but to be fair I didn't ask either. Eveing meals are wholesome if not very cordon bleu but I much prefer that to some fancy plate with little on and some silly lines of sauce purporting to be a meal but of little substance. If you've ever had the misfortune to be presented with the 6 chip tower elsewhere you know what I mean! Pretty and handcut they may be; filling they most certainly are not.
This, by some distance, has to be my favourite hotel, there is some nice countryside views particularly if you are assigned a room at the front of the hotel. At the back was obviously an old railway cutting though it is all grassed over now you can still see some remnants of the track and siding gear.
It can be a little windswept if you are a smoker but they seem to be a hardy breed out in all weathers - but the air is clean and fresh (obviously standing away from the smokers!) and I can thoroughly recommend a visit to the Aston Hotel. Cost was £79.00 for Bed & Breakfast, evening meal was a further £20.00 on top.

Room Tip: Try a get a room at the front for a pleasant view over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you very much for the excellent review, it is really very encouraging to get such thorough feedback. Maintaining a high standard consistently only happens through the hard work of the team at the hotel and I am sure it will be a source of great motivation to them when they read your comments.
Thank you again for the review, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on the weekend of the 22/23 October. Hotel was good and receptionist was very welcoming. The hotel is a clean and modern located in an industrial area. The package was excellant though and we had a lovely walk in the Peak District and went to the village of Bakewell and the hotel provided a very nice packed lunch. The breakfast and evening meal were very good indeed. We had a ticket for Chatsworth House which was also a very enjoyable experience. A very nice weekend. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you very much for the great review. I am really pleased that you had a good stay and delighted that you were able to visit so many of the great countryside and towns we have close by.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will see you again at the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I really recomend this hotel - I stayed with a group of friends on a ramblers break deal - and from the moment we checked in nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they were all really friendly, helpful and cheerful. The hotel is modern and the rooms are a good size, very clean and well equipped. The food was lovely and there was plenty of choice. The staff really do deserve a special mention and praise - for their helpful and friendly manner towards guests and they certainly helped make our stay a real pleasure! Well done!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am very lucky to have such dedicated and professional team who work very hard to deliver a consistently excellent product and experience to all of our guests. I am really pleased that you had a great time and on behalf of the team I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

WOW what a hotel, have never stayed in such luxury.stayed on a two night chatsworth break, the hotel is very modern catering for all our needs.the food is first class buffet breakfast excellent.The packed lunch and chatsworth tickets a added bonus, great location only 5minute drive to meadow hall shopping.The staff were all friendly and nothing was a problem.WOULD DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you very much for the super review. I am thrilled that you had such a good time. Offering value for money and service has never been more important than it is today and it is hugely encouraging that we were able to deliver such an exceptional experience!
Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham

Address: Britannia Way, Catcliffe Rotherham, Rotherham S60 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Aston Hotel, Sheffield opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Brasserie provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Aston Hotel, Sheffield as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.