We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money, but could do with a lick of paint!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Brentwood Hotel

The Brentwood Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Brentwood Hotel to your Saves list
The Brentwood Hotel
114 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2TY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for the money, but could do with a lick of paint!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Brentwood for one night last weekend. We booked 2 double rooms and only paid £35 each which was very reasonable. Rooms were a bit of a walk away up steep flights of stairs. The rooms were quite spacious and our bed was bigger than a double which we were very happy with. Small flat screen tele with freeview which was great. Bathroom was basic and we did notice mould on our shower curtain. I'm not usually one you pick at petty things but it was quite noticeable. The corridors and rooms could do with a bit of freshening up, a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.

Location was great for us as it was a 5-10 min drive away from where we needed to go. Tesco express also a 5 min walk away.

We ate in the restaurant/pub and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend if you enjoy pub meals.

The lady on reception was very pleasant and offered us free tea and toast when there was a mix upon over payment.

Overall, the price is reasonable and I would definitely stay here again for a short stay (1-2 nights). However it would benefit from some refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear lauragriffiths,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed staying with us. Your comments regarding some of the condition aspects within the hotel have been shared with our management team so they can be looked into.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    17
    17
    14
See reviews for
21
33
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

very friendly staff on arrival,set in lovely surroundings,room clean and tidy fantastic value for money.Lovely full english breakfast. Noticed their good food awards cant understand how its only 2 star stayed in worse 3 star.Very happy with all aspects of hotel could not grumble for the money we payed.

Room Tip: no lifts so if you would have problems with stairs ask for ground floor which one of our party did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear paul n,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here many times in the past but this time it was obvious how filthy the place had become. the corridor carpets were so dirty dirt was sticking to them and the walls were the same - the smell of stale smoke was present during our 2 was to be three nights stay. the duvet was just thrown over our bed without it being made properly and the bathroom was shoddy. soap dispenser was broke and soap attachment just thrown to one side - grouting was filthy - general shabby and dirty appearance was evident. The Good Night Inn chain should be ashamed .At 55 per room with breakfast it is not recommended. At breakfast the carpet again was filthy. A group of middle aged guests were swearing loudly and no member of staff approached them. In fact they were joking with them. We found it all very uncomfortable. After complaining we did get a portion taken off our bill and promptly booked into the Carlton park next door for our last night. For one pound cheaper 54 per night the facilities were top notch. Clean - swimming pool etc. we can't understand why the 'pub' side of the Brentwood is clean with good food and yet the hotel has fallen into this filthy disrepair. As ex Rotherham folk who visit relatives we won't be staying here again. Staff stand around - there doesn't appear to be training in etiquette - no uniform - 6" worn by some - it just appeared all wrong. Such a Shame such a beautiful building has fallen this low.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked two rooms for a one night stay Saturday 3rd August for a visit to see family.

The whole bedroom wing is tired and in need of investment. The carpets in the corridors have a 10mm strip of dust down each side against the skirting board where the vacuum cleaner does not reach.

The rooms themselves were clean but badly need decorating.

The bathrooms were appalling with cobwebs, rusting shower curtain rails, missing soap dispenser in one, body hair in one bath, sealant around one bath was black in areas with what looked like mould. Door frame filthy in one.

Breakfast cheap but average.

Evevening food in newish Flame Grill good value and reasonable quality.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the original part of the building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

after reading bad reviews of the brentwood i started to worry. when we arrived we were met by a very helpful member of staff.The room was basic but what do you expect when you only pay £32 per night for 2 people with breakfast thrown in. The room was clean with a freeview t.v, the bathroom was very clean. The pub next door does excellent meals where the steak is brought out on a skillet guaranteeing that it is nice and hot. No noise from the pub when you want to go to bed is a real bonus. Breakfast is served nice and hot. Overall it was a good night there. People who moan should look at what they paid for it and not expect the hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side, there is good free wifi in the rooms. One the minus side, the room i got was sadly in need of a revamp.tiles falling off in bathroom, chips in bath, not very clean. Food is same as every other restaurant in the Flaming Grill chain, so ribs, burgers, steaks, etc
Breakfast was ok but not great....overcooked egg, raw tomato, etc...terrible croissants too

All in all not great

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST MIDLANDS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room 18 - black bits in the bath which look like gunk/filth/mold around the bath handle ( yep that high up) ceiling in bathroom shabby paintwork obviously a leak, tiles not exactly clean, bedroom -2 single beds pushed together to make a 'luxury king' yeah right! ended up with them drifting apart in the night. Luxury?? lol!

Damp on the wall to the bathroom, shoddy paintwork and windows wouldn't open.
The corridors smelt musty and damp and the stairwell looked a bit 'high rise council chic!'

The food.... fly baked into the chips, nice! All in all a complete joke - WILL NEVER EVER RETURN

Meant to have been a romantic get away from the kids weekend - ended up driving out to Cleethorpes, well worth it, found a lovely place..

Room Tip: Is there one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Hotel

Address: 114 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Rotherham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brentwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.