We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Droppingwell

The Droppingwell
162 Upper Wortley Road | Kimberworth Park, Rotherham S61 2AB, England
01709 552121
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 235 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great relaxed atmosphere and the staff can't do enough to help,my mum is in a wheelchair and its never too much trouble for them to find us an appropriate table and make sure we are comfortable with it.
Good choice of food and very reasonably priced,I recommend looking at the specials board which offers even more choice and again well priced,superb value for money. I can't fault The Droppingwell and it always comes high on my recommendation list to friends

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    12
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely family friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a lovely warm welcome, excellent service. Meals are very good value for the money, there's lots of choices, for every taste.. Will be returning with family and friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Complaint”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was taken to the Droppingwell Pub on Saturday, 26th October and I ordered the Chicken melt with cheese and a barbecue sauce. I had eaten some of my jacket potato (which was nice) and then took a bite out of my chicken. The chicken had been well and truly overcooked to the extent that it was so try and hard that any further forkful was impossible to eat. I cut a piece of my chicken to my wife who also said that the chicken was inedible. I waited till thee end of the meal and being disabled, I could not easily get up and go to the bar and complain. No waitresses came by during the meal to ask if the food was ok. I duly complained, initally, quietly to the waitress who collected the plates who then went and got the "team leader" . Having explained the situation to her, she said that as the meal had been eaten ( only half the jacket potato and a third of the chicken, all of the peas and most of the carrots were also left) she could not offer me my money back. I explained to her that I couldn't complain without first of all eating the product. She still refused, but offered a free dessert. This was reluctantly accepted. However, there must be a system where this pub should be able to refund a meal, which both the waitress and "team leader" agreed was no where near their usual standard. We have been to the Droppingwell in the past with other family members and if this is the way that they treat their customers, one being disabled, then I certainly will not be returning. All of the family considered that I was shabbily treated and will not be returning either.

The manager, was conveniently not available!

Judging by other patrons responses, I am not the only one!

Patrons, be warned before making a booking!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tasteless Pub Grub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Pleasant surroundings and a good pint of John Smiths , but the meals were very bland, I had a pork special and it all tasted of nothing, sausage , pork steak and gammon all very poor. If I had not put sauce on it, it would not have tasted at all, my wife said her salmon was overdone and our friends were also not happy with there meals. What do you expect at 2 for £10 was the attitude. I expect to taste something . Will not go again .,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had eaten here the week before and recommended it to our friends so we were very disappointed to find that a few of the meals weren't up to standard. We complained about three of the Sunday dinners to the waitress, she asked us if we would like to speak to the manager, she later came back to say that the manager had spoken to the chef and the comment had gone into the complaints book!! and that she apologised. Not good enough !!The manager was keen enough to ask us if we had ordered because the table had been booked for later but unable to come and talk to us about the poor quality of the meals. Very poor quality of meals and appalling customer service

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Droppingwell also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Liversedge, West Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Droppingwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Droppingwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.