We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roche Abbey

Roche Abbey
Blyth Road | Maltby, Rotherham S66 8NW, England
+44 1709 812739
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Attractions in Rotherham
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in a peaceful and picturesque wooded valley, Roche Abbey was founded in 1147, with stonework dating back to around the 1180's. Thanks to Capability Brown who landscaped the area in the 18th Century, we now boast the most complete foundations of any Cistercian monestary in the country. Although most of the excavated ruins are low lying, the transcepts still stand to their original height. Roche Abbey is closed during the winter months, re opening again March 2015. The woodland walks around the area are accessible and parking is still available.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“enjoy walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Roche abbey is a lovely place for a stroll, they have a gift shop, toilet facilities.
The abbey itself is stunning, then follow the path round the abbey and you come to the stepping stones over the river, thats great fun for the kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Set in a tranquil valley just off Blythe road this location is simply beautiful, I used to pass this years ago when working the area, today I set out armed with my nikon dslr and several lenses, the sun came out and the ruins are imposing, I have some superb photos, some of which I shall frame. Well worth a visit. Don't forget your camera.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Set in a beautiful valley in the midst of the sprawl of South Yorkshire, this really came as a surprise. Much of the ruins are only of low height, but are remarkably complete in terms of building outlines, which gave a really good impression of the layout of the monastic site - much better than the numerous other ruined monasteries I've visited.

Only part of the church stands to almost full height, but with a stream running through the site, on a sunny day this is a really pleasant place to linger for a while.

The approach road is cobbled and goes on a long way - it almost feels as if you're intruding by driving down there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltby, south yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The setting is tremendous, valley is very quiet, facilities are basic, BUT, its a ruined abbey, verytranquil, whatever time of year you visit.
Great for a picnic, ideal for the kids to run around and explore, or even paddle in the river.

You can walk a circuit around the exterior of the grounds and over the stepping stones, without having to pay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A tranquil haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I did not expect the abbey ruins to be so extensive, nor so imposing! Cistercian monks are known for picking wonderfully beautiful, desolate spots in which to build their abbeys, but Roche really takes the biscuit. After wandering around the abbey and reading the guidebook I pitched up my picnic rug and lay in the sunshine. Although lots of people passed through and there were people relaxing elsewhere, the site was never crowded.

A very peaceful spot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roche Abbey also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Roche Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roche Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.