We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Garden Centre

Wentworth Garden Centre
Hague Lane | Wentworth, Rotherham S62 7TF, England
01226 744 842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Rotherham
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in sixteen acres of historic walled and landscaped gardens, Wentworth Garden Centre is arguably the biggest and most attractive centre in the North Midlands. Its setting, in the former Kitchen, Italian and Japanese gardens of Wentworth Woodhouse is unique.We are not a member of any buying group or garden centre chain. We are a long standing, family owned independent and as such care passionately about our customers and their satisfaction. It's a policy that has seen the centre evolve from a tiny village operation into one of the largest garden centres in Yorkshire today.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Love this garden centre. There's the gardening part, a restaurant, a children's playground, a pet shop, a butchers- the list goes on. even if you don't really feel like spending much money, you can have a walk around the lovely gardens which are a pert of the old Woodhouse, although they do ask for a small donation toward their upkeep. All in all, it makes for a lovely afternoon out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    108
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Love this garden centre - parking if free.
It has lovely gardens, shops and a fantasic cafe/restaurant which serve homemade food and cakes - yummy.
All the surounding area is lovely - Have a stroll into the old fashioned and really well kept village where there's a couple of nice pubs. Needles Eye is only a short walk or drive away.
Also from the garden centre you can walk or take a 2 min drive up to Wentworth Woodhouse.
All Wentworth is truely beautiful and well worth a visit if you like to feel you have stepped back in time. The village have different events throughout the year.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of pet shop !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Went in specifically asking for a female rabbit, as company for my neutered male. Woman went out the back to show me a rabbit they hadnt yet sold....she was beautiful so i bought her.

Took her to vets to be neutered...'she' was male !!
woman was so desperate to sell this rabbit, she sold me exactly the opposite of what i requested.

As i now had 2 males (although both neutered) did not get on, and the newest rabbit had to be rehomed.

Ask store staff to double check gender in order to avoid unwanted rabbit babies !!!

Im just happy that the first rabbit i got was male, otherwise i'd have been overrun with babies

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This garden centre has one of the nicest cafe/restaurants of any I have ever visited. The sandwiches and hot meals are delicious and the cakes and deserts are lovely. The staff are always friendly and polite and the seating area is comfortable and clean. The garden centre itself stocks most things gardeners need and the plants for sale always look like healthy specimens. There are also some craft shops and a very nice butchers in the grounds.
There is also an excellent photographer whose studio is in the garden centre grounds. His name is Mike Leng and his family portraits are the best I have ever seen. They are not cheap but you do get what you pay for, as they say. He takes pictures out in the gardens when the weather permits and this gives them a natural look that cannot be achieved in a studio.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It is always a pleasure to visit the garden centre, whatever time of year it is there is always plenty to see and buy. The new cafe is fantastic and the shops are a delight

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wentworth Garden Centre also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Wentworth Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Garden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.