We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas day dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitwell Arms

Sitwell Arms
Pleasley Road | Whiston Rotherham, South Yorkshire, Rotherham S60 4HQ, England
+44 1709 377003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 235 Restaurants in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A food pub in Whiston, Rotherham
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas day dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

this was the first time we have been out for christmas dinner as our children are grown up we thought we would do something different. The restaurant was full, there was a good atmospher, and staff were welcoming and friendly nothing to much trouble for them. i have always worrried that when restaurants are so busy and cooking for a lot of people at the sametime the food is a let down....BUT not today the food was excellent !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We go to the Sitwell Arms very regularly as we only live just up the road. We have always been made very welcome and the food is cooked to order. Monday to Thursday they do 2 meals for a tenner and it is great. Excluding bank holidays of course. They also have guest beers which are usually very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Half Term Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very friendly staff. Excellent value for money on lunctime specials (2 for £10) Paid a supplement for Gammon but well worth it. Lasagne was homemade.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

food was a let down, there was a wedding on at the time not something that can be helped i no, people kept coming in and out the front door leaving it open and all the cold air coming in each time very loud music, swearing and drunks ,,, we went for some food and we sat there amonst it all as there wasnt anywhere else to move to, the staff though were nice and friendly pity about the food and customers letting it down, seems a bit dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Unidentifiable food...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

GOOD.
It was reasonably close to where we were staying.
Was open and there was electricity.

NOT SO GOOD.
People playing bingo.
Otherwise empty.

BAD.
Arrived at 7.56. Barman taken by surprise that anyone would want to see a menu at that time of night.
Given 4 minutes to order as kitchen closed at 8.
'Chef' came out to complain to someone that he had to stay until 8 as some people, looking at us, had turned up and wanted food.
Chef looked like a tramp. Had special chefs outfit of scruffy jeans with baggy bum and ill fitting tee shirt.
'You can't go wrong with steak'. Er, you can. Ordered sirloin but had no idea what it was except it was not sirloin.
Someone asked for medium, turned up very well done.
Someone else asked for rare which was also very well done.
Neither was able to finish, she hardly started, inspected chips like alien visitors on a plate, kept rotating them.
Someone asked for a brown ale, unusual choice but barman was helpful in that he looked through the fridge, was sure he had one somewhere. Then remembered it was sold last week.
I had 'pie of the day'. No mention of which day but certainly not baked on this day, or this week.
Came with corn on the cob, didn't know they did them in that colour, made it's way back to the kitchen on my unfinished plate to be served again tomorrow.
After asking whether it was enjoyable the waitress took the card for payment, returned saying we'd have to go into another room to pay as the machine couldn't get a signal where we were. We left via the bingo bar, the bingo caller paused, not thrilled at the interruption.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitwell Arms also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Sitwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitwell Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.