We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BAD Night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bollywood Restaurant
192 Bawtry road | Wickersley, Rotherham S66 1AA, England
+44 1709 739520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 221 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A BAD Night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Can't comment on the food, as we didn't get to eat! Booked a table for 5 at 8.30pm for my son's birthday. Arrived at 8.15 fully expecting to wait a while and ordered a drink at the bar. The headwaiter guy came after a while, gave us menus and said he'd be back shortly. It was only when we visited the toilet (through the restaurant) that we started to worry as there didn't seem to be any tables that could accommodate 5 people anywhere near available. Anyway the guy came and took our orders in the bar (by now it was 8.50) and said he would seat us 'in a minute'. When my husband noticed him setting a table for 4 with another place by perching a chair on the end, right at the top of the stairs where it would be in the way of people arriving and leaving as well as waiters getting drinks from the bar, he went to have a word. It was clear that was the only table we would get that night so we paid for our drinks and left. Disappointing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A great Saturday night refuelling stop but too casual for some.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This long, low modern room was busy and buzzing on a Saturday night. The clientele is mainly groups of 20-30 somethings refuelling during their Saturday night revels and Bollywood plays well to this crowd. The menu is brief (by Indian standards) and portions are generous. Food quality is OK, lots of fresh flavours but seasoning needs attention, a starter was way too salty whilst main courses lacked bite. Service is friendly and casual but chaotic and a little slow. Good at what it does but not the place for fine Indian cuisine or a sophisticated/intimate dinner for two. £100 for four including two bottles of wine represents reasonable value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Had a great curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went midweek, nice and quiet and had a great meal,good service ,nice pace and great food. 3 of us had onion bahjis 2 different veggie curries and a meat one with three rice along with two nan a bottle of wine and a large glass all for under £60. Excellent meal. Been occassionally over the last few years and always enjoyed it - perhaps it time to go a little more often !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We went here with friends on a quiet sat night.. We had heard mixed reviews but felt we had to try ourselves..the food was lovely but we had to wait along time for it to come and the portions aren't massive for the price we paid, we even had to go to the bar ourselves as no one was around for us to order drinks with our food..we found the bar bill high(2 bottles of wine + 6 cobras £63) it was ok but won't rush back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stylish atmosphere but service was rather slow and this was on a half empty Saturday evening! Both biryiani dishes were a mountain of (nicely flavoured) rice but a bit of play 'find the meat'. The accompanying vegetable curry were in very small square dishes (the same as used for the pickles etc with the popodoms). The chicken shashlick was ok but a bit lacking in flavour. The food was somewhat overpriced, as if you were still paying for the redecoration.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Restaurant also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bollywood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.