We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value new years eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value new years eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in this holiday inn on new years eve, had a great package for 3course meal, disco bed and breakfast with use of the pool and gym.
Food was nice, served hot and of good portion size. The staff were friendly, and couldn't do enough for us.
Pool was nice and clean. Rooms great too, massive bed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your New Year celebrations. We Hold 3 different events on New Years Eve and it seems everyone had a fabulous night, so thanks for taking the time to write a great review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    119
    52
    25
    15
See reviews for
53
69
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was near the meadowhall shopping centre and we wanted to go to the xmas sales as well as some business to attend to. Was a nightmare to get to as the postcode on the website doesnt take you to the hotel so its best to ring the hotel in advance and get it correct. On arrival and throughout our stay the hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. The bedroom was cold and we complained about the heating and we was told that they will be renovating in March but unfortunately it was a cold night! Breakfast was nice and lots of choice. Overall a dissappointing stay. Shame though as the staff were very accommodating and tried their best.

Room Tip: make sure your heating is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us when you visited the sales at Meadowhall. I was pleased to read that you were impressed by the staff and our Breakfast. Please accept my apologies that your room was cold, who ever you mentioned it to should have got you extra heating which is normally readily available. I hope it doesn't put you off staying with us in the future and if you do, the postcode to use in a sat nav is S60 2XL, this is not our actual postcode but gets you this side of the roundabout. Some sat navs take guests to the other side of the roundabout as the actual postcode serves both sides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well where can I start, my wife and I stayed here 20 years ago on our wedding night and it seems nothing has been repaired since then. I booked us a night in a suite so we could go for a nice meal and have some time away from the kids. On arrival we picked our key up and headed up to the 3rd floor in a lift that rattled and wobbled so much my wife refused to use it again. We got to our room (314) and opened the door to what turned to to be an exeutive room and not the suite that I'd booked. As we walked in we could hear dripping so I went into the bathroom to find the shower head turned off but still running with water. I had a look round and found horrible stains on both the bed throw and chairs at the table. We considered walking out and getting our money back things were that bad but decided to go for a swim in the pool and this is the only reason we stayed as it was clean, warm plus well layed out. Still feeling a little low I had a bath but only stayed in long enough to wash due to the constant torment of the water dripping from the shower head. After heading down to the bar for a couple of drinks we went to a table for a meal only to be told they had no fish or salmon so the menu was really cut back. I decided I'd have a burger and so did my wife (not the romantic meal we really fancied). I picked a bottle of sparkling white wine to go with the meal, 10 minutes later the waiter came back to tell us they had non of that either but had rose. The food was brought out and I wish we had driven into town to Wetherspoons as around £17 for what we had was daylight robbery it was basically pub grub. The waitress came with our wine only to tell us she didn't know how to open the bottle so I had to do it myself. I know I seem to be moaning quite a bit but the standards were shocking, I went to the bar to sign for our meal and the only ray of sunshine in the whole restaurant was a barman called Bob. We watched a bit of telly and then got our heads down for a night of peaceful sleep only to be woken every 10 minutes by a lorry tearing down the dual carridgeway (I'm not sure the double glazing was working). After a very long night of tossing and turning we decided to have a cup of tea around 7.30 but the room had no milk so I had to get dressed and wander down to reception to pick some up, the girl behind the counter didnt even bother apologising. After that we packed and got out as fast as possible.We did not stop for breakfast, firstly it would cost twenty six pounds and secondly based on last nights offerings we decided against it. Not a very stress free night away at all.

Room Tip: A room in a different hotel would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a review. Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy many aspects of your stay and encountered problems. I can assure you this is not our usual standard and I am very sorry that this was your experience. I have passed on your feedback to all relevant personnel and assure you we will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I organised the works Christmas party which we attended on Monday 17th December. The organising of the event was very smooth, it was very easy to make alterations/add numbers etc. On arrival we received a glass of fizz and were shown to our tables. All the staff were very professional and polite. The food was of a good standard and served very nicely. The tables were decorated well with crackers, balloons etc. The atmosphere was very friendly and very festive. We felt looked after and taken care of, the drinks were plenitful and the dancing was extreme!! All in all a very good venue, great staff and a great time was had by all. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your Christmas Party and for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed the friendly and festive atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back again next year, if not before, at one of our Monthly All Inclusive Party Events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went there for a Groupon Christmas Dinner and we loved it, it was a nice environment in a packed restaurant. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We decided to make the occasion last a bit longer and booked a room for the night too.

The room was very clean and spacious as Holiday Inns usually are, we used the pool which was nice and quiet and bright. The breakfast was of a good standard, nice and hot and a good choice.

Fairly local for a trip to Meadowhall, the local shopping centre.

No complaints, we enjoyed the time we had there. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your Festive Lunch and your overnight stay. We do a fantastic Carvery Sunday Lunch for only £5.95, so although we hope to see you back next Christmas we'd be delighted to welcome you back sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Booked a christmas partynight for 19 on arrival warm reception from all staff. Christmas meal was niclely presented and hot and served efficently we all found all members of staff extremley polite and helpful. Very good atmosphere throughout the evening no member of our party had any negative reviews of the evening as we all had a good time.
For those of our party that took advantage of the overnight stay again rooms clean and well presented good choice of buffet style breakfast. A very good evening and would not hesitate to reccommend the christmas party night and we will be returning again next year.
Thank you all for a lovley evening
Northern General Hospital Staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic review. We've had a brilliant festive period and i'm very pleased to hear that you and your colleagues all enjoyed your Christmas Party. If you have anything to celebrate or just fancy another night out, we are running some all inclusive parties throughout this year, so we hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I hardly know where to start! Room was not clean unmentionable in the sink and tub too! Organized a two day event and everything was incorrect and I mean everything! Ran out of mains on first day, room set up incorrectly and everyone passed the buck when mistakes brought to the attention to those in charge? The worst of it was when discussed with the manager she argued with me to the point where she made me feel worse for haveing talked to her. Now I'm sorry she finally returned my call after leaving 4 messages. while I was at the property she saw me upset but chose not to address me - I know this because she told me when speaking with her. Clearly she needs more training in customer service! This is one holiday inn to miss and if you have an event that people pay to come to definitely give it a pass - the only redeeming quality was Mike the attendant on the day he ran around to help me get everything straight!! If it wasn't for him my event would have been a flop!!! I've been doing this a long time and this is by far the worst place I've ever had a meeting at!

Room Tip: Give it a miss!! Not worth the aggravation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear the comments you have made regarding your whole event. As far as I understood it, you were looked after very well throughout the 2 day event by the whole team and had two issues.

The first issue was that, although the room was set classroom style as requested, this was not set the way you felt you had explained it to us. We altered the room a number of times for you, before your delegates arrived, to ensure you had the perfect set up by the time it was required.

Secondly, although there was plenty of food still available on the first day, we had run out of the fish option. We always provide a meat, fish and vegetarian option with our lunches, as well as salads and other accompaniments such as vegetables and potatoes. The fish option proved more popular than ever before, as all your delegates decided to go for the fish option only, which is most unusual and we discussed why this occurred and how this was influenced by yourself on the day.

I'm sorry that you were not happy with my own customer service, this was not my intention. I did allow one of our managers to assist with your problem, which I overheard from inside my office, from this it sounded like there was no food left and I went straight to the restaurant from my office to deal with the issue directly so as to ensure this could be sorted immediately. I did find there was almost a fully stocked buffet with the exception of fish and everyone eating and I sampled some of the food to check the quality and as such felt no further action needed to be taken.

I was only aware of calling you straight back from the first message I received, so please accept my apologies if this is not the case and you had left previous messages.

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding Mike, our Conference and Events Assistant, who looked after you throughout your event, I will pass you feedback onto him.

We pride ourselves on the usually exceptionally high standards of quality and service that we provide to our conference and events clients, so please accept my sincere apologies that you were not 100% satisfied with all aspects of your event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Address: West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 is a modern hotel off the M1 motorway conveniently located for Sheffield city centre Rotherham and Meadowhall Shopping Centre. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom with ergonomic workspace, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For breakfast or dinner the restaurant in the Holiday Inn tempts with international cuisine or choose the lounge where light meals are served throughout the day where wireless internet access is available. The hotel also boasts a superb refurbished leisure club, with large 17.5 metre indoor pool, spa, steam, sauna and gym . For Rotherham conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield M1, Jct.33 offers 11 well-designed, air-conditioned Meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. A small charge will be made. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Hallam FM Arena, Don Valley Stadium, Magna Science Adventure Centre and near to the many business parks in the Sheffield region, the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 is the perfect choice for business or leisure. Planning a wedding in Rotherham? Call now for information about our amazing packages. Want to get fit? Join our leisure club now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield m1, Jct. 33 Hotel Rotherham
Rotherham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.