We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Rotherham
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here over the weekend as we were attending a wedding in the hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious. The bar food was nice and quite reasonably priced. I tried out the swimming pool which I had more or less to myself. The pool was quite warm and well maintained.

The wedding we attended was lovely. We had a buffet at night time which was unusual in that we had pie, mash and peas or chilli and rice! Very enjoyable and tasty.

I would most certainly stay at this modern, well maintained hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    43
    23
    14
See reviews for
50
51
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I usually stay at the Holiday in the centre of Sheffield but it was fully booked so I had a one night midweek on business on a corporate rate at this hotel. I was allocated an Executive Room on the 3rd floor which was very spacious and included 2 double beds and a dining table with 4 chairs. Bathroom was well appointed and clean.
Very restful and quiet night. I did not use the spa or pool facilities.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I particularly like that they appear to provide fried eggs to order rather than just providing a tray of them under a heat light.

Location is convenient for M1 but nothing else much in the way of restaurants etc nearby without driving or taxi.

Will use again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stay at many holiday inn's in the UK and this is one of the most friendliest.

Good location just off the M1, gym and swimming pool are adequate, the food is of a better selection than others I stay at!

One downside is if you wish to nip out to eat elsewhere you are bit isolated, so it's a drive or taxi.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in one of the slightly larger bedrooms. Good move! Plenty of room. Our room at the back of the hotel on the top floor was nice and quiet and the big bed was very, very comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant for one night -- the portions were generous and well cooked. Buffet breakfast was fine, varied and filling.
All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has a wide range of facilities and offers package deals for the business traveller. Unlike other Holiday Inns, this does advertise rates that include wifi & movies that are included in the room rate.
They operate an open plan restaurant that is well staffed and responsive to its guests. Times to be seated, served and pleasantly processed are all above average. Food is good standard and usually has a wide range of choices.
The spa, massage and gym are all impressive, with an attractive pool with a bit of character. Nice jacuzzi and steam rooms too. Really good for families with children.
Excellent location for Sheffield and Meadowhall, which has a wide range of shops, restaurants and entertainment venues.
Recommended.
Be careful not to put the postcode into your satnav, else you will be sent the wrong way. Remember, heading north on M1, take right at roundabout back over the motorway, then take the first exit at next roundabout - hotel on opposite side of dual carriageway. ( Satnav takes you right/2nd exit which is wrong.)

Room Tip: Get an exec package - best value by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about our Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with us. Our executive pacakage do include extra value items, which we vary from time to time but often include wifi and movies etc. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and leisure facilities. You are right to point out that some Sat Navs do take you to the opposite side of the roundabout as the postcode on both sides is the same. For SatNavs use S602XL which will get you to the correct side of the roundabout to locate the hotel. This is not our postcode but seems to work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrives as a day conference delegate and it just looks shabby and tired. The chairs are stained and dirty and even the cups look old and need to be renewed. Staff are friendly but the whole hotel just doesn't feel very clean. Needs a re-fit ASAP.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was disappointed and slightly suprised by your review and wondered if you would mind contacting me to discuss your findings, so i can investigate further. It would help us to correct things if you would let us know what room you were in and when you visited for your conference, so we can get to the bottom of your findings. The chairs in the conference department have all been cleaned by an external contractor twice in the past 12 months, we buy new conference cups on a regular basis, including 100 in September and we maintain the condition of all our cups with special maintainance processes. One of the things we get the most positive feedback about is the cleanliness of the hotel. Obviously this was not what you experienced, so thanks for bringing this to my attention, I hope to hear from you soon so we can understand it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
1,044 helpful votes 1,044 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival we explained to the Receptionist that we would like a very quiet room as we had been travelling and we knew there was an Autumn Ball on that night. She very obligingly changed our room number to one on the top floor at the back of the hotel. The room was large, comfortable, clean, quite modern looking and with a nice large comfortable bed and choice of hard and soft pillows. The bathroom had a full sized bath with shower over and was very clean also. Had a very good night's sleep and it was nice and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was leisurely with it being a Saturday - up to 11am. Plenty of choice from the hot and cold buffet and the waiter was extremely helpful and brought me soy milk and enquired which of the buffet items were suitable for vegetarians. I didn't ask if there was a vegetarian substitute for the bacon/sausage but there wasn't any on the actual buffet. Plenty of other items such as pastries, yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit etc. Plenty of parking at the hotel also and it was free. We didn't use the room service menu but the food choice on there looked really good.

You have to pay for the wi fi. Either £4.95 per hour or £12.95 for 24 hours. I feel that a hotel with the standard of the Holiday Inn should not need to charge for this. We had stayed in a Days Inn the night before and the wi fi was free.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor and it was very quiet. We didn't mind having a small windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, finding the hotel to be clean and that you got a good nights sleep and a good breakfast. Our parking is now free, we listened to the comments of our guests when we charged for parking and decided to remove the fee a few months ago, so glad you found that of benefit too. I was also dleighted to hear you would like to stay with us again in the future, so we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Address: West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 is a modern hotel off the M1 motorway conveniently located for Sheffield city centre Rotherham and Meadowhall Shopping Centre. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom with ergonomic workspace, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For breakfast or dinner the restaurant in the Holiday Inn tempts with international cuisine or choose the lounge where light meals are served throughout the day where wireless internet access is available. The hotel also boasts a superb refurbished leisure club, with large 17.5 metre indoor pool, spa, steam, sauna and gym . For Rotherham conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield M1, Jct.33 offers 11 well-designed, air-conditioned Meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. A small charge will be made. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Hallam FM Arena, Don Valley Stadium, Magna Science Adventure Centre and near to the many business parks in the Sheffield region, the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 is the perfect choice for business or leisure. Planning a wedding in Rotherham? Call now for information about our amazing packages. Want to get fit? Join our leisure club now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield m1, Jct. 33 Hotel Rotherham
Rotherham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.