We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub but nothing too special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sidings

The Sidings
Whitehill Lane | Brinsworth, Rotherham, England
01709-29-60-24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 206 restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice pub but nothing too special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited The Sidings on a Saturday evening for a meal and some drinks. We started by sharing a portion of potato wedges with cheese which were nice. For main I had mushroom pasta and my partner had lasagne. The food was average pub grub, and priced reasonably. You could tell it was home made like they said online but standards could have been slightly better. Liked the fact that the garlic bread was home made and that we each got three pieces, however there were too many mixed herbs on it which overpowered the garlic. Nice decor, complimenting the building and staff were friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at The Sidings, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sorry to see you only scored us 3 out of 5 but glad you enjoyed the food to some degree. I have spoken to the chef about the herbs on the garlic bread and we will be using less going forward.

I hope you visit us again and we will try to give you a 4 star or even 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    37
    20
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical pub grub - nothing fancy, but nothing special either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visiting for the weekend and came here having read all the reviews on here. Was expecting something a bit more exceptional as the 13th best place to eat in the area. Staff were great and the food hit the spot, just not something I would necessarily remember for being an amazing pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at The Sidings, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Dev

Thanks for your review and the comments of "great staff" and "food hit the spot".

Sorry to see you only rated us 3 stars and you were expecting more. If possible could you provide us with more feedback as to what we can change and what your expectations were.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Came for the weekly quiz. Great selection of cask ales all reasonably priced. Food is exceptional for the price with all local produce. Thoroughly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went last Sunday, food, staff and value all excellent. I notice the previous reviewer gave Frankie & Bennys five stars so I think we can ignore her review!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal on Friday. The food was yet again fantastic. Would recommend to anyone. Very good quality high class pub food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidings also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sidings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sidings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.