We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, service and food first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel
Brampton Road | Thurcroft, Rotherham S66 9JA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, service and food first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was back in Rotherham working for a few days , stayed at consort , a gain. Was really impressed with changes and improvements to the hotel , and enjoyed one of their legendary Christmas parties , even managed to make it into work the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for one of refurb end bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, Manager at BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am delighted once again that you had a great time here at The Consort Suite and getting up for work too! We are busy now arranging our Christmas Fesitivities for 2014 so we hope to see you if not before as we have some great events happening in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
31
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We attended a Christmas Dinner & Dance on Saturday night, the meal & restaurant service were very good. But I would want to warn future visitors NOT about using the facilities provided for hanging coats. My partner hung his "puffa jacket" (a well known make) up, towards the end of the night I visited the ladies & discovered the jacket missing. My partner came to investigate and saw someone leaving the hotel with my partners jacket under his arm. On challenging the guy, he said it was his but it wasn't. I & my partner held on to the jacket to eventually gain possession of it. If we hadn't gone to the coat rail when we did the jacket would have been stolen, so please be very careful when leaving your coats, I would advise not to do so.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We were very sorry to read of your experience on Saturday night. We deal with many functions throughout the year without any problems so this has highlighted a concernto us. We have reviewed our procedures and will whenever possible our cusotmers wil have the option of an attended cloakroom.
Thank you for taking the time to advise us of this problem and I hope to see you again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel a number of times now attending an annual dinner dance. Friendliness of the staff, quality of food, general cleanliness, facilities and most of all breakfast consistently excellent!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for comments which our team members are always delighted to receive such positive feedback.
We look foward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Consort Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Sharon Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neton abbot
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After having my wedding reception on 5th october 2013 at the Consort Hotel I would recommend it to anyone. Sharon and Ann Louise was always on hand to answer any queries prior to my wedding and to make sure everything was organised as I wanted it. On the day the staff were excellent especially Sammy and the two girls working with him. Sammy was perfect, he was happy and got involved with the celebration we couldn't have asked for anything better. The food was lovely everyone commented how much they enjoyed the food and how nice it was, the buffet during the evening was also good. Our room and the rooms for some of my guests were spacious and clean, and for B & B were good value for money. A good choice of food for breakfast the next day everything from full English breakfast to fruit, yoghurt, toast and several other things too many to list. Defiantly worth considering when booking a wedding or just for a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Rooms are good and the food is excellent.A warm welcome and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpfull.They do a superb pack up breakfast for people such as myself that have to be on the road at a very early time. I would reccomend the hotel to anyone. PS Gemma and Karen are superb very helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. We stayed in a superb suite room which was very large and spotlessly clean as are all the areas in the hotel. The staff are very pleasant and professional. We just had breakfast at the hotel as we were eating out with friends, but it was freshly cooked and plenty of choice. We will be returning in the New Year and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are very good with plenty of space and a lovely bathroom at a reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had our wedding here and I can honestly say the day was fantasic from start to finish. All the staff where very efficient and helpful. I stayed the night before the wedding as well as the wedding night, I found the room to be very spacious and the bed was really comfortable.

The food was piping hot and delicious, everyone commented on how good it was and the waiting staff where brilliant. All in all, everyone had a great time and there was no complaints from our guests at all. I would definately recommend a weddiing here.

The only down side, is there is nowhere outside for wedding photos, only the car park, but in the grand scheme of things, this is a very small minus.

Room Tip: If you are not good on your feet, request a room on the ground floor, as there isn't a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel

Address: Brampton Road | Thurcroft, Rotherham S66 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently just 5 minutes from Junction 1 off the M18 and a stone’s throw from the M1 and A1, this hotel is ideal for exploring South Yorkshire and includes free Wi-Fi and parking. It’s their keen eye for quality that really makes this modern hotel stand out from the competition. Committed to providing matchless hospitality with a friendly yet professional service, even the smallest of details is dutifully attended to. What’s more, it’s both convenient and easily accessible making it a perfect home-from-home for those seeking to explore the surrounding area.Individually decorated and furnished, each of the 27 en-suite guestrooms are both comfortable and well-appointed. Every room also comes fully-equipped with all the luxuries that the modern traveller would expect, including free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, 24-hour room service and tea and coffee making facilities. Whether staying for business or leisure there are accommodation options to meet all needs, including Classic Double or Twin rooms, spacious Superior Rooms or family-friendly Suites.Specialising in a selection of tasty British favourites, the restaurant offers a range of dining options with something to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Taking great pride in the quality of their food, they endeavour to use locally sourced produce and ingredients wherever possible.With its accessible location, great service and excellent facilities the Hotel is an ideal meeting and conference venue. It offers a variety of well-equipped and flexible meeting rooms all of which benefit from natural daylight and the attention of the Hotel’s professional and dedicated conference staff.The Hotel is located in the town of Rotherham, just a 5 minute drive from Junction 1 off the M18, and within easy reach of the M1 and A1. What’s more it also provides plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Sheffield is just over 20 minutes away as is Doncaster and both offer excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Rotherham, just a 10 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s a 50 minute drive to East Midlands International Airport.With a central location in the heart of South Yorkshire, the Best Western Consort Hotel is ideally placed for trips to Rotherham, Sheffield and Doncaster. There are plenty of great attractions to be found in the surrounding area and visitors will never be short of something to do. Engage in a spot of retail therapy at Meadowhall indoor shopping centre, enjoy world-class music, comedy and more at Sheffield’s Motorcross Arena or try your luck at Doncaster Racecourse. For family fun there’s the MAGNA Science Adventure Centre, thrilling watersports at Rother Valley Country Park and ice-skating and swimming at Doncaster Dome leisure centre. The scenic beauty of the Peak District National Park is also within easy reach and offers unparalleled opportunities for those wishing to experience the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotherham
Rotherham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Consort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.