We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Ball Inn

The Golden Ball Inn
Whiston, Rotherham S60 4HY, England
01709 726911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 235 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go with my friend for lunch,on my recommendation,my mistake! Starter ok,main dry and tastless,my friend had to send her meatballs back,rock hard,instant mash too.This used to be one of my lunchtime treats,not anymore,the manager gave us 20% discount,unless things go back to how they were,wont be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    55
    36
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor will definately not be going back!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sister in law took me to try it as she had been few times before and said how lovely the food was. we was both looking forward to it, the beer battered mushrooms starter which we both had was lovely then I had lamb meatballs and mash which the 1st time had to go back as I couldn't even cut through the meatballs then second time round was still very tough and chewy and was very disappointed to find out the mash was an instant mash! The chips which my sister in law had were frozen and her chicken was over cooked and tasteless over priced crap!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Golden Ball”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Full of prats who think they are fine dining when actually they are eating mediocre pub food.The staff are full of themselves and favour the well healed over the ordinary person.
The place itself,Whiston is a lovely village.If you want to try a more homely pub with good pub food and a warm welcome,try the Chequers round the corner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“So disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Photos look lovely, website has lovely looking menu on it, on arrival it looked lovely, inside it was lovely, it was all going so lovely.

The food was a big disappointment for me. Two of our party had prawn cocktail, the prawns were awful. They looked great, head on, full sized king prawns, but I suepct they were cooked then frozen. They had a kinda sticky feel to them and needed deveining before eating. The cocktail sauce was a bit odd also, not that it was horrible, just different.

Other starters were soup (nice) and the bacon and blue cheese salad, which was a bit odd. A plate with one large Cos lettuce leaf in the middle. One. and some sprinkling of bacon bits, blue cheese and I think creme fraiche blobs. none of it combined, just sprinkled. It actually tasted good, but the presentation was bizarre.

Mains were better, ranged from Hunters Chicken (nice) to Steak and eggs (very good), Toad in the Hole (nice) and a good pie.

It isn't cheap and whilst it isnlt the worst meal I have ever had, it really was just 'average' which is a real shame, was soooo hoping to a really good find.

Note on the service - was excellent, was a busy Saturday, and the service was spot on. Couldn't fault them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good pub food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a family meal here for my mother's 60th birthday. So it was an important meal and the Golden Ball delivered on the key point which was a fun atmosphere and well all had a really good time. As a nice bonus we were given a free bottle of champagne for my mums birthday. Starter and main course were excellent - great rib eye steak and the bar has a good selection of beer. The desert was very disappointing which was the main fault of the meal.

I would recommend the Golden Ball because the atmosphere is great, the staff are very friendly and the beer selection is very good. The food is good to average but the place makes up for that on just being a fun place to meet friends and family. If the food improved just slightly (and I really mean the dessert) it would be five stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Ball Inn also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Golden Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Ball Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.