We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hind

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hind
East Bawtry Road, Rotherham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 223 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went here for late lunch on Saturday 8th Feb. I had a "burger" with fries and coleslaw - said burger arrives with about 5 fries and no coleslaw. Waitress then comes back with some lettuce and grated carrot. The burger was like rubber and was half eaten. My niece fared even worse - macaroni cheese - straight out of the microwave and tasted like wallpaper paste! AVOID

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    14
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of room on the plate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pulled pork burger, at least that's what it said on the menu... A teaspoon of pulled pork is not really on the generous side, as for the fries and salad, kids portion would be a wild over statement. Seriosly small portions and over priced. Good service though and they do have a great beer selection that are well kept.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I visited with my husband and two friends on the same evening as the quiz night. We all had dinner and chose four different meals and unfortunately none of them were great. They were not the worst I've had but neither were they the best. The chef may have just been having a bad night as I have been told by other friends that they have eaten there and it's been very nice, so perhaps we just hit on a bad night, but I would not recommend it to anyone else.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food is always good, the staff are friendly, the service quick and you can't beat their fish and chips both for quality and value. We go there regularly and have never had a bad meal or service

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Food good, when they have something available!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went here just before Christmas, and myself and my partner decided to have something from Festive Menu. The only problem was availability. As we weren't made aware until ordering what items weren't available, I had to keep going back and forth to the bar with an alternative. This was frustrating and embarrassing for both me and the person taking my order, as people were queuing.
My advice would be not just to have a first choice, but a second and third aswell!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hind also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.