We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location. Good menu.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Main Street | Wentworth, Rotherham S62 7TL, England
01226 746162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 235 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful location. Good menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Plenty of menu choice even for veggies. Promptly served. Very large portion sizes. We were lucky enough to eat outside in the sun but the restaurant environment is inviting too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    64
    27
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Went out with a friend for my birthday.... Came back with a terrible upset stomach. Drinks orders all over the place... Ordered a glass of wine to have with desert which didn't arrive until we had finished eating waiting ages for water. Food, for the price, was absolutely average at best. Very full and it seemed that they couldn't cope with so many people in. Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“25th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been going to le bistro for years but only for special occasions as it can be quite expensive to be a regular place to eat at, plus it makes it more special.

I took my mum, dad and my family for the mid week special and as always the food was lovely!

Everyone enjoyed all courses of the food, our favourites include the Barnsley chop, lamb shank and meat and Potatoe pie.

The desserts are to die for!

The staff are always very polite, friendly and welcoming!

Would recommend to anyone for a special treat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAPELTOWN, SHEFFIELD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked a table for my husband and I for the current midweek special evening meal. We had never been to Le Bistro before, but had been given a voucher by family members towards a meal there. We were greeted at the door by very pleasant staff, who were attentive throughout the evening. The service was excellent - we were offered our free drink as part of the meal deal as soon as we were seated, and we ordered our starter and main meal almost immediately. The service was very prompt, and both starter and main meal were most enjoyable - the portions were certainly substantial, and the vegetables served separately per customer were cooked just right. We then ordered a dessert, which was again delivered without any delay.

The restaurant started to fill up after 7pm, and what I found nice was that the staff obviously knew several of their customers on first name terms - the whole atmosphere was very friendly. The staff team were extremely pleasant to us.

We came away very satisfied from Le Bistro, having found it an extremely enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average at best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A quick review of Le Bistro, Wentworth. I booked a table for a midweek special evening meal at £18.95 per person for 3 courses. We got to le bistro and were shown to our table, which was very cramped for both us and the couple already sat eating. We ordered our free first drink (part of the special deal: small wine, 1/2 lager/bitter/cider etc) which was brought straight over, we then ordered our food. Starters were with us within a few minutes the tandoori chicken I ordered was very bland (barely a hint of tandoori), my partner said her fishcake was nice. The mains again were with us very soon after finishing the starters (maybe too soon?) The lamb shank (an extra £1.50) was ok, but again lacked flavour. The desserts were both very nice (cheese cake and chocolate chip brownie). The service was ok, but we were not offered further drinks (after the free ones) and did seem a little rushed between courses. The place is quaint enough but cramped, plastic canteen style table cloths and chairs and the menu a laminated A4 sheet of paper. This place could be so much nicer if it decides whether it wants to be a posh cafe or a restaurant as neither the food nor the decor/atmosphere are of restaurant quality though it tries to be. That being said..... I have eaten in far worse places charging more for food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.