We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Main Street | Wentworth, Rotherham S62 7TL, England
01226 746162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 235 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took wife & 4 friends for Sunday lunch. Easy to book ( 2 weeks in advance) excellent atmosphere, great vaied 3 course menu. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the pleasant helpful staff. We were not rushed and each course was excellent, the whole meal was value for money £16/head with wine not too expensive and was a good vintage. Will go again though not during the expected busy Christmas period, though if you go book early for that

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    64
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SheffieldYorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Le Bistro - Good but expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have visted Le Bistro on a number of occasions to include Sunday lunch yesterday, and I can't help feeling that it is expensive and also lacks some of the touches that makes for a really great restaurant.
There were four of us and the bill came to £100. We had one glass of wine each.
The choices are good and the food is delicious but I resent having to pay a £1.50 supplement to have Roast Beef! Whats that all about? A Sunday lunch should be a Sunday lunch!
Also, little things let it down. Paper napkins - not nice crisp white linen ones, and you would never go to a top restaurant here or abroad without complimentary water. One of our party asked for a glass of water and thats what she got - a glass. No carafes to share!
I was always under the impression that the car park next door to the restaurant belonged to them, having always been at night. But, during the day, and to include Sundays , there is a £2 charge! I would expect that to be recognised on the bill and deleted!
All, in all, good, food and good service but lacking the small refinements which make a good restaurant!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First visit-of many!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I came here after he booked us a table as a surprise. What an amazing experience from start to finish! We were greeted at the door by a friendly and attentive waiter who sat us down at a table (lovely tables by the way-about a hundred knives and forks and lovely sparkly glasses) it's something that you'd want to create at home yourself but this is a million times better. The waiter took our drinks order, a John smiths for him and a diet coke for me! Both were delivered promptly in lovely shiny glasses. We then ordered our food, I had the ham hock terrine and he had the fishcake. Both were amazing, huge portions and delicious and fresh. We then had our mains, I went for the roast pork and crackling and he had the lamb shank. Again, both were faultless, huge portions, really hot and everything was lovely! The desserts were also lovely, dread to think how many calories were in the maltesers cheesecake. All
In all a lovely afternoon, thank you to all the staff, we'll be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quirky.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Decent little eateries are rarer in the Barnsley area than an un-pregnant teenage girl!!!! For all its faults, this little bistro merits a visit, because you will undoubtedly come out "enjoying" what you have eaten, even if it is very "samey" should you go week-in, week-out. There is a large choice of starters and mains (and a totally un-necessary "packet" soup course) and pre-bought in sweets which are top quality nevertheless, BUT, at £15 midweek all in, what can be the issue? The problem with this quirky little bistro is when you walk through the door its "straight" to your table as there is not a bar/relax area (except outside on rare Summer nights). The Maitre'd a glamorous middle aged Lady was very professional, BUT, should invest some of her professionalism in coaching the "schoolboy/schoolgirl" staff to be slightly more attentive to diners requests. The drinks seems quite expensive relative to the competitiveness of the food, and the wine list was lacking a decent champagne, but hey ho, this is nit-picking as the wine list generally has something for everyone. The speed of service was good, and, if you asphmatic, avoid the place (lol), since you will have to blow quite hard on your food to cool it down, as its always lovely and hot......which makes a change these days. A bit of variation in the veg could be a bonus (not exactly mind blow selection is carrots/cauliflower/broccoli, and these little side plates are a bit dated, as are the "plasticky" table cloths which I imagine are to give the bistro feel. Having said all that, I like the place, in-fact I like the place alot. Don't expect a "Leeds" type bistro, expect a villagey/quirky family run affair that's certainly worth a visit............or two!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good food and service, great location. The down side is that at busy times when the large table is in use it can be a bit noisy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.