We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a beautiful Sunday lunch
You could have it in the restaurant or in the bar great choice friendly and helpful staff food was lovely
Great atmosphere pleasantly surprised and alot of minor changes have occurred since my last visit great improvement s

Will defiantly recommend to family and friends and will be back
Really enjoyed it :)

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
15
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked just one night and the reason for choosing the Crown was that I had read that it had been recently refurbished..
Well it hasn't! At least the bits I saw anyway. First of all the ONLY positive- the staff, a lovely lady who was very helpful but also embarrassed at the standard of my room.
I checked into a family room as I had my 12 yr old daughter with me, broken heating in one of the interconnecting rooms and also broken heating in the bathroom.. It was -1 outside and was about the same in the room!
The receptionist ( bless her) went running around the hotel trying to find me a warm twin room but to no avail, she then put two portable heaters in my room which helped but the bathroom was still freezing. I decided enough was enough and asked for a refund which she said she couldn't do as I had booked the room online. Finally a solution was to put us in the North Shore a hotel a couple of miles away which wasn't ideal but the hotel was lovely.
The room at the Crown was very poor, dated cracked 70's bathroom, shabby paintwork and wobbly furniture but most of all broken storage heaters.
I definitely won't book there again and was actually a little shocked at the substandard condition of the room.
One note to the manager - why offer rooms online if you know the basics like heating are broken, that is just asking for trouble isn't it?
To summarise - if you want a very basic dated room with no heating then the Crown is for you, if you want to be warm and cosy in a room ( that isn't cheap ) then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check to make sure it's one of the newly refurbished rooms NOT one of the shabby ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are genuinely sorry that your stay was below standard. Your feedback is helpful and we have taken it on-board.

We do have a great team of friendly staff, but it was a mistake that our reservation team had rooms available that had faulty heaters. As a result of inspecting our rooms, we have taken several offline and these rooms will not be available until the new heaters are installed.

We believe our pricing offers good value for money and customer satisfaction is our highest priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here very recentley, the staff were very friendly and dinner saturday night was amazing, I would highly recommend the tuna steak! The hotel was quiet which made for a peaceful nights sleep, the only negative is that the hotel is very dated looking inside, it needs some fresh paint and new bathroom suites and it would be a 5* rating from me.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Crown. Your feedback is very helpful. I am sorry we have not fully fulfilled your expectations. We have owned the hotel for only a short time and have just started our programme of room refurbishments. Glad you enjoyed your food and I will pass o your comments to the team in the kitchen. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We had two rooms - 101 was a family room and my son and girlfriend had 110 which was a double. Booked through hotels.com although they gave us a double with 'roll down bed' which apparently wouldnt have fit in the room, the hotel kindy changed it to a family room at no extra charge. Yes it is 'tired' but with a refurbishment im sure it will be fine. Breakfast on our second day was lovely and a meal in the bar was really tasty. Will stay again which will be our third time here

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is very helpful to us. I am sorry we have not fully fulfilled your expectations fully. We have owned the hotel for only a short time and have just started our programme of room refurbishments. We are please you enjoyed your food and will pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Recently stayed here as a group of 12 on a golfing weekend. I have to say the hotel was good, clean and all the staff where very welcoming. As we where playing early on the saturday we coild not have breakfast in the hotel and they went out of there way to organise breakfast sandwiches at the local golf club where we where playing at no extra cost, so a big well done to the staff for helping us out ! Thats what customer service is all about and everyone appreciated it. All the rooms where clean and tidy and the owners are obviously trying to make a go of it, so any moaners on TA should give these people a break ! Our party wont hesitate to come back next time we are in the area. Well done and a big thankyou from the boys from birmingham : )

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review of your stay. Your feedback is very helpful to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed in the above room for one night on saturday & left on sunday. We booked the room via expedia because the pictures on the website of the hotel & example rooms looked very good. Upon arrival we did have to wait at reception having pressed the bell a few times however the staff were very nice & freindly. The room was tastefully decorated & the bed was firm but confortable. The ensuite bathroom was quite large & the bath was long enough to lie down in fully & im 6ft tall. The bathroom could do with a bit of decoration however as paint was peeling off the ceiling & there was a black damp mark on the one wall above the toilet. We did not eat here so cant comment on food quality etc. Would i stay here again? Yes i would because overall it was a nice hotel with freindly staff & was very quiet both outdoors & inside with other guests about

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is very helpful to us. We know we still have improvements to make and we are well on the way with them. We will pass on you kind comments to our team. Thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

second time its changed hands I believe since the family from Derbyshire ran the crown,and there meals were the best,my wife and I had lazania and sorry to say it was not nice at all,the colour was terrible the taste terrible,we used to go often for dinner but will have to leave it a while now,the poor chap behind the bar was ran of his feet serving drinks,ordering meals,delivering meals poor guy,a lady came in the bar just looked all around never spoke to anyone then went back downstairs,thats making one welcome is it ???? lovely hotel but were have all the pictures gone its like no one owns it,have stayed here before and it was nice then,

Room Tip: our room as always been ok its a nice quiete hotel,good nights sleep when we stayed before but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Your feedback is very helpful to us. It sounds like a very busy day that you visited and we are sorry that you were not totally happy with your experience. We now have a new chef and our feedback on our food has improved. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel Skegness which has recently undergone a change of ownership. With our friendly staff and of course a great hotel, you'll always find a welcome at the Crown!At the Crown Hotel guests comfort and well-being is assured by the friendly team and hand picked staff who run the hotel with a discreet efficiency that is seldom seen these days.We have 20 comfortably furnished rooms each with en-suite appointments, tea and coffee making facilities,telephone & WI-FI throughout. Fax facilities are available for business guests. There is a lift to all floors & disabled persons are catered for with ramps at all main entrances as well as to the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Skegness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.