We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sun Hotel to your Saves list
The Sun Hotel
18 - 19, North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just had a lovely three night break with friends. We had rooms 7 and 10, both of which had big windows with great views. Room 7 being on first floor and room 10 on the second. There is a lift, but we didn't use it. Our rooms were lovely and clean with plenty of room and a lovely big comfy bed. Staff are very friendly and would like to thank Dean for his help with my laptop. Nothing is too much trouble for him as is the same with all the staff. Breakfast was very well cooked and not greasy. We asked for some more toast, which we got and next day we didn't have to ask for it, they brought it out, which I thought was nice. There was no entertainment on the Thursday or Friday night, but we did use the bar when we came back from an evening out. Saturday night was bingo, which we don't play, but was nice just to sit in the bar. They also had a quiz, which was good fun. The one thing which would be nice, would be to have a coffee in the bar. We found it strange that they don't serve tea or coffee. Otherwise a great stay and would definitely return there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Hotel in the very near future.


Kind regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    50
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
81
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly and good value for money as well as a brilliant location - I have stayed here twice now and would stay again for sure. Bed was massive and lovely view of the sea and staff were very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I are just back from a Caledonian tour to Skegness and we stayed at the Sun Hotel. The food was at the most average. The rooms are small but clean. The entertainment was quiet good. Richard and Marlyn from Hamilton

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington tyne wear
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

just back from weekend break to the sun hotel with national holidays we found the hotel very nice the choice of food was very good also close to all the shows and bars we would go back to the sun no problem national holidays did us proud again with there choice of hotel staff where very nice nothing was a problem to them

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I booked a night away for my wife and her mum/grandmother/aunty for a night in Skegness whilst visiting the Embassy Theatre. Now i can assure you that pleasing these females is not easy - i've spent 10 years trying! - However they had a fantastic nights stay. The location was right on the sea front and extremely close to everything you would want to visit in Skegness. The Room, service and breakfast was first class. Many thanks for making their stay so pleasurable (and giving me a weekend of peace!)

Room Tip: try and get sea front with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We traveled to Skegness with National Holidays for a five day stay. On arrival we were told that dinner was at 6pm and was roast beef. We found our room, 3A and were pleasantly surprised. The bed was a good size, as was the room. Plenty of drawer space, 19 drawers in total, and a decent size wardrobe. The bathroom was quite large too with a good size shower cubicle. We found the food to be of mixed quality, the breakfasts being very good but the evening meal was disappointing, the roast beef on the first night was particularly poor as it was very tough. The prices in the bar were reasonable and there was Bingo on every night with entertainment on Wednesday. The entertainer was Robbie Dee and he was very good. Overall we had a very good stay with everyone being friendly and helpful, just a shame about the evening meals but as, I believe, they had just opened for the first time since Christmas, perhaps they had not quite got into their stride

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

we have just returned from another stay at the sun hotel and once again everything was fantastic. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed having a laugh with Chris doing the quiz and the second nights entertainment was fantastic, the singer got everyone involved and was very funny. When we asked for diet lemonade ( Tina the owner) said it was not on tap but she very kindly went out and got us some which we thought was very nice. All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you travel with a great bunch of people like we did.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: 18 - 19, North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.