We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SEASIDE HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skegness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sun Hotel
Save
You added The Sun Hotel to your Saves list
18 - 19, North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
GLASGOW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SEASIDE HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent 7 days holiday at the SUN HOTEL on a Caledonian coach holiday The hotel has a splendid location on the sea front at the north promenade an easy 10 minute walk to the town centre

The rooms are clean and tidy and generally what you would expect on a coach holiday
The meals were excellent and varied with a choice to suit anybody with a 3 course meal being served at night along with tea or coffee.

There was entertainment on most nights with typical sixties music that had everybody dancing
The staff were all pleasant and efficient and all in all the holiday was great value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    47
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in november 2012 with our friends for 2 nights,we enjoyed it that much we all decided to go back 14th-17th june 2013 for 3 nights 4 days.we were in the same rooms as last yr.still very clean & still gd food.owners & staff very friendly & helpful....this is a really gd hotel for national as they tend to use the very old shabby hotels.me & my husband go abroad twice a yr but like the odd wkend away in england.would reccomend this hotel to anyone.barry & barbara anderson darlington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my family last week and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, as was all areas of the hotel. The food was really good, with plenty of choice. They went out of their way to accommodate all tastes. The staff are brilliant, especially Jamie and Dean. A very enjoyable stay and we will go back again for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed a 4 night stay on a National Holidays coach trip.

Owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. Info for meal times and entertainment is on the notice board.

EVENING MEAL: Meal on first night was set although they did advise they would do their best to accommodate any special requests. At the evening meal they came around to ask for our breakfast choices, and at breakfast did the same for our evening meal choices. We found all the food to be well cooked and presented; vegetables being on separate dishes on the table so you could help yourself. The gravy was very tasty. We tried three different soups and various desserts and we couldn't fault any of them. The cheese board was made up of three crackers, butter and individually wrapped cheese which suited me fine.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast choices were fruit juice, prunes or cereal, then a full english or any combination of poached/scrambled egg or sausage or bacon on toast, followed by toast with butter, jam and marmalade then coffee or tea. I opted for hot water as had taken own brand of coffee. We enjoyed our breakfasts very much.

ROOM: We stayed in room 3A which was on the side of the building - this was not a problem. the windows opened so the room was nice and cool. The double bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom was a very good size, the toilet flush was excellent, the shower was also very clean and of good power and heat. The bedroom furniture gave more than enough space for our things and we felt very at home. I would usually take my own hair dryer but did not this time and used the one provided which was excellent.

There is a lovely guest lounge with huge sofas and comfy chairs - a very comfortable and relaxing room if you did not wish to sit in the bar area.

We had a wonderful stay in Skegness and having such a lovely cosey hotel made it all the better - we hope to be back in the not too distant future.
The staff and owners saw us off - this was a nice touch to end our holiday.

Room Tip: side room was nice and dark away from the street lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

nice friendly hotel but certainly not for disabled . got no help with our luggage as we booked to go our selves not on a bus tour?
food was ok, view from our room was just great!
had a lovely week here though entertainment was mediocre.
hotel is clean cheap & cheerful. had so many problems with my disabled mum she had to leave after a few days (disappointing) they could of done more to help i.e telling us on her leaving they had a ground floor disabled friendly room if they had known we where disabled (we told them on four occasions) but did not offer to put us in it?

Room Tip: hotel has four sea view balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful and friendly. Food very nice. Room clean. (Toilet flush not brilliant). Excellent singer on Friday (Colin Starr). All in all great value for money. Would go again. Good location- very handy for shops and amusements. A short bus ride away from Butlins and Fantasy Island.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived at the hotel to find no-one manning the reception but when someone did arrive, they were polite and courteous, informing me exactly where my room was. The staircase up was quite narrow and they have a stairlift between the second and third floors, but strangely not on any other set of stairs, and this means a lack of space in that particular area.

The room itself was relatively small, but it was a single room so it was to be expected. It was pretty basic with a small, non-digital TV that only offered Channels 1-5, but plenty of room to walk about, put all of your stuff, etc. It also had a delightful view of the top of the houses of Skegness.

Location wise it's quite reasonable, it's only a few minutes walk from the main attractions of Skegness, and there's plenty around to keep your kids entertained.

I didn't spend an lot of time in the hotel before checking out but it seemed reasonable enough. Checking out again saw me go to the unmanned reception, I rang the bell and was waiting five minutes before someone turned up, and even then the person who turned up didn't know how to take payment for my stay so ended up taking the money to give it to a manager. I must admit it felt a bit dodgy but I phoned up later and everything was ok.

Overall I can't complain at £25 for a room though.

If I was only going to stay for a day or two then I would come here, but probably not for anything longer.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, there are only 6 or so that actually look out onto the ocean, two of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I would like to comment on a few items mentioned.

Unfortunately you arrived after our latest check in time which wasn't a problem other than it was right in the middle of our dinner service for approx 45 persons and again unfortunately when you checked out it was in the middle of our breakfast service and it was one of the waitresses that you saw when you left who gave the money to the owner whom you spoke to when you telephoned.

With regard to the being no stair lifts on the first two staircases this is because we have a passenger lift which services those two floors.

You are quite correct about our sea view rooms, we have six, one of which is a single and one twin on the same floor you was on, one double and one twin with balacony on 2nd floor and two doubles one with balcony on the first floor, we also have a holiday apartment on the first floor which offers a double bedroom with a balcony and a lovely lounge which also offers sea views.

Once again thank you for your comments and hopefully we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: 18 - 19, North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.