We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 hotels in Skegness
nottingham uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived for a very cheap Mon to Fri break. Our room was a bit cold but they be delivered a heater as soon as we told them and all was fine.
It is an old hotel and there was no rad in the bathroom but once room warmed up it was OK. The food was great. Breakfast had absolutely everything on offer and nicely cooked too. Our meal in the evening was also excellent and the menu had such a good choice it was hard to decide on. This hotel is right near the clock tower and the town and the beach so ideally situated. Hotel all in all very comfortable and service excellent. There was evening entertainment but can't comment on this as we didn't go. Visits we made in the area were to the seal sanctuary in skegness , charity shop and coffee morning on Thursdays at the county hotel, and weather spoons at the top of the town for coffee. All within walking distance and also a large tesco near bus station where buses to most places available. We went to spilsby one afternoon but buses went to Lincoln, horncastle, Boston etc.
Also visited Radcliffe donkey sanctuary, mablethorpe, ingoldmells by car. Hotel has a large car park so no problems if you take your car. On way there went to memorial flight at conningsby which is/well worth a visit. All in all a great break and the weather was kind to us too as it only rained at night.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    60
    20
    22
See reviews for
51
103
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this for my Mum and Dad as an christmas present. They visited in early Jan 2014, and could not praise the hotel and its staff enough.

My parents said the reception staff were helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable, clean with a lovely sea view. They ate evening meal at the hotel which they said was really lovely, and reasonably priced.

There was a good choice for breakfast.

The room rate was very reasonable.

They have said they would like to return again next year!

Thank you everyone at the Royal Hotel for making their stay so lovely :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We decided on a when we checked in winter break at the royal from 27th dec to the 30th dec when we checked in everything was quick our room was very nice we were on a bed and breakfast basics the bollywood which is a indian restaurant is next door in fact you can walk out the royal straight into the bollywood along a corrider this place is great with lovely food and a very nice restaurant .the breakfast at the royal was very good plenty of choice the bar area was very pleasant and relaxing this hotel is a old hotel but it has a lot of character yes and it has a large car park .we really enjoyed our stay at the royal and the staff were very good would like to return

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel looks very nice from the outside, we booked this just driving past on the off chance looking for a hotel, plenty of car parking spaces available. We stopped with friends on a night out, we had a room with 3 single beds and a bathroom, very standard, but clean. The food was ok but the bar shut too early. Would rather have stopped closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

When we arrived we were a little skeptical as the decor looked a bit tired and the carpets were a little worn. Having stayed for three nights, though, the general feeling is that it is a good hotel for the price.

Very well located this hotel would be great in the summer when the external temperature reaches double figures. The grounds were well maintained and there is ample free parking.

The bar area, whilst smallish, is comfortable although although the pricing seems a little high - £2.50 for half a shandy. They only sell house wine by the glass so be prepared to buy a bottle but beware - we were sold a glass of someone's wine in error.

The rooms are adequate with tea/coffee making facilities, small but working TV and plenty of clothes storage space. The en-suite was tiny but the shower worked well and all was clean. The room was unbearably hot throughout the stay with no way of turning the heating down - opening the window at night was not an option as it was terrible weather outside and the hoards of pigeons outside coo-ing was bad enough with the window closed.

We ate in the Bollywood restaurant and found the Indian and English food to be of high standard and very well priced.

This hotel seems to be popular with coach trips so we did feel a little out of place with all the oldies but hotels this size have to take out of season business where it can.

Breakfasts were good (except for shell in the scrambled eggs) and replenished often.

Would go back for a summer break - not a lot open in Skegness in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

as previous reviews of skegness have been of the south view hotel we were not quick enough this year to be able to book there so originating from skegness we booked the royal as second choice on arrival we were checked in by a not so friendly receptionist given the key to room 206 told the rules and regulations and then promptly ignored i did wonder was this attitude normal or could it have been that we had booked through an internet booking site? our room was ice cold the radiator barely warm but an electric one stood in the corner which was promptly turned on the bed was a small double the furniture although new looking was cheap with no taste and the bathroom was or appeared to be a converted cupboard also freezing cold with a toilet so small you litrally had to reverse into it to fit in with the loo roll positioned above your head to the rear upon turning on the hot tap it was quite strange to find the water colder than the supposed cold tap even after leaving it running for over ten minutes.On returning to reception we waited behind another couple booking in who were obviously returning guests as the receptionists manner had completely changed even to the point of telling said couple she had upgraded them to a much better room at no charge lovely i thought maybe we could get an upgrade too? no chance upon us complaining about the cold room and evev colder hot water she told us that the hotel had one water tank and we just had to keep running both tap or shower untill the hot came through and that due to under occupancy this could take some time and that a room move was not possible due to a wedding on saturday.the nights sleep under a huge quilt that trapped you totally although warm was uncomfortable and not a pleasant experience Now to the saving grace of the hotel breakfast a full english with everything except black pudding(for the purist) but very well cooked nothing cheap used and tasty with excellent waiting staff . IF only the rest of the hotel was as good as this we would return i think we will give the royal a miss in future

Room Tip: one with hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just got back from the royal hotel with friends it was a turkey and tinsel week we had a premier room which was excellent and our friends were on the bottom floor we were in a party off 12 over all I thought sonetimes the hotel was to hot water didnt last long same veg every other night no mustard on tables or not enough gravey boats on tables tec the breakfast was the best hot water soon went cold staff very nice etc I think if you r in a party off 12 you need 2 staff to a table but overall we enjoyed it and will be goung back next year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.