We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added County Hotel to your Saves list
County Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

As a young boy we went to Skegness for many years staying in flats and apartments. The County Hotel was a place I could only dream of staying. This weekend I full filled my chidhood ambitio: with my wife and parents we have just spent the weekend at the two star County Hotel. The general manager Ross was very hospitable and friendly, the waiting staff in the restaurant the same. The county is an Art Deko hotel and whilst our double sea view room was comfortable but the ensuite bathroom was on the small side. The public areas are in need of re-furbishment but they are acceptable. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast rate, the food is not fantastic but for what you pay it is good, dinner consists of a 4 course's with tea or coffee to finish. The Breakfast menu is good and the food was very good. Fresh brew coffee is available throughout the day and is free to residents.
For what we paid I consider this hotel good value for money and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My parents had room 57 a double seaview room with a good ensuite bathroom, very good I had room 27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    83
    26
    4
    11
See reviews for
48
90
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a wonderful holiday we had at the County Hotel. Ross you should be so proud of yourself and your staff, from the moment we arrived till we departed I felt like a Queen. Food was excellent, rooms were spotless and all staff were so lovely and made us so welcome. Also like to thank Pete our driver (Glenton) lovely chap, great driver. Ross =(aka ironboard lady) thanks for a great holiday, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I must write to you all and encourage you all to stay at this marvelous hotel, the food is absolutely great, and more than enough with 4 courses, all as excellent as one another. Ross the manager is brilliant nothing is to much trouble for him, my 5 year old Grand daughter Sydney is quite shy, but Ross is like a shining star to her, she loves him. The other staff are also brilliant, especially Amy who is always smiling and looks after you like you are the only clients there. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bed sheets look brand new every time, I would advise anyone who is looking for a home to home experience to visit the County Hotel and we are returning in 5 weeks and it cant come soon enough x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed for just the one night in May. The hotel is in an excellent position, being on the main seafront road. Literally 5 minutes walk to the beach, amusements, pier, shops etc but no rowdiness as the hotel is further along Nth Parade. Art deco style hotel, it must have been wonderful when first built, although modern now, it retains a few decorative touches from yesteryear.
Free parking is included in the price of the room, and is secure and out of the way.
There is a lift available.
The hotel was very clean and the room spacious. I had room number 36 which had views of the sea and promenade.
Double bed with bedside tables and reading lamps, large desk containing kettle/tea/coffee etc along with drawer storage. Double wardrobe with extra pillows & blankets, remote control lcd tv, hairdryer and large mirror. Bathroom was a full size bath with shower over, washbasin and loo. Complimentary soaps.
Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of a choice of cereals/ fruit & juices and then either a full english or lighter option of eggs or smoked kippers. Toast and preserves were bought to the table along with tea and/or coffee. A table is reserved ready for each room at breakfast.
The hotel seems to cater mainly for more mature customers, 2 coaches full were there at the same time as us, so although the atmosphere in the hotel was buzzing, there were no late night noises to contend with.
Lastly, if you really wanted to stay in a hotel where you were warmly welcomed by the manager then stay here. The manager Ross is a jolly scot who is fantastic in his job. Having just met us for the first time ever when checking in,and having a full hotel, he remembered our names the next morning when greeting us at breakfast. Marvellous man doing a marvellous job.
We would certainly return here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 36 had side views of seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The County Hotel is towards the Northern end of North Parade - this makes it a little quieter than hotels nearer the centre - yet it is a very convenient location.
The hotle first opened in 1935 and retains some of the original character although it has clearly been updated over the years. We were greeted by name by the manager (Ross). He ws very friendly and helpful - also knowledgable aboiut local restaurants. The hotel has a fir sized car park at the rear - which is free - but as the hotel serves quite a few coach parties, space can get taken very quickly. It was basically full when we arrived mid-week on a cold May day at about 4.30pm.
The hotel has a reasonable bar and a restaurant - but given the focus on coach parties dinner is served early - 6.30, and it's probably not a good option if you want to be a bit more private.
The breakfast was reasonable, with a good choice of cereals and fruit as well as the traditional English breakfast - kippers were also on the breakfast menu.
Although just the two of us, we were given a family room (no.19) which is one the side of the hotel, but has something of a sea view. The room was large, well equipped and clean. Everything worked. Good sized bathroom with bath with shower over. Room was great for two, but I think would be crowded for a family - it had a double and two single beds.
We booked on-line and were happy to pay £65 for bed and breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I liked the hotel, but was disappointed in the entertainment. They have a beautiful dance floor but did not use it. the other floor was on hire to line dancers. We were left with a little lounge and the floor was carpeted so was not good for dancing.
We only went thinking we would get dancing

Room Tip: we were on the first floor but did not have a sea view. Room was still nice and clean.Never heard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night in April as we were going to the Embassy Theatre to see a band. We actually live quite locally, but thought we'd have a full night out in Skeg Vegas without the hassle of a 15 mile taxi trip post alcohol!
The County came up very reasonably priced on a hotel search site and as this was a governing factor we went for it. Ross the manager gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and gave us an upgrade to our booking, which was a much appreciated surprise.
Because we arrived quite late we literally dumped our bags in our room, went down the sea front to The Embassy which is about a five minute walk away and had our night out.
One thing that surprised us on our return later that night/morning was the night porter warned us that the lights were off in the hotel and he wasn't kidding! Because we were slightly the worse for wear we never got to the bottom of it (whether it was a temporary fault or the norm), but we literally had to fumble our way up several flights of stairs and down pitch black corridors by the light of a mobile phone! Not the best when you're sober, but after a skin full......our apologies if we disturbed anyone!
The hotel itself is a grand old building with hints of art deco and past grandeur, unfortunately it is quite bland and un-inspiring, particularly upstairs, with long drab corridors and plain functional bedrooms.
This is not a major criticism as such because it is quite functional and clean, which is for most people the most important factor, but it is a shame when you look past the façade and see what it could have been.
We had a good nights sleep in the hotel and had an excellent breakfast the next morning, which was much needed, with attentive staff and Ross himself taking an active part in the serving.
All in all we had a decent night at the County and would stay again as it was very good value.

Room Tip: Book early, ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.