We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivydene Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skegness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivydene Hotel
Save
You added Ivydene Hotel to your Saves list
39-41 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 91 Skegness B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for two enjoyable nights in July.
Rob & Melina were two extremely pleasant hosts, who provided my wife & I with a good base for our trip.

The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was a delight to the pallet, and the availability of wi-fi a real bonus - overall well worth the money & is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Select a room on one of the lower levels to obtain the best wi-fi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvydeneSkegness, Owner at Ivydene Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and found the wi-fi useful. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

In fairness this booking was made at the last minute. That said things could have been a lot better. Booked though an Internet site and paid £100 for a two night bed and breakfast stay as a single person. On arrival I was staggered to see ads in the window for three nights B&B £75 per person???? The hotel was almost empty so didn't understand why as and old lady I was taken up two flights of stairs to an attic room?? The was clean, but, difficult because of the Eve's of the property. The towels were changed daily and the breakfast was excellent. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone in future Shame as I know lots of people who often visit the area.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms if you have mobility problems request one of these. Preferably though g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvydeneSkegness, Owner at Ivydene Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about our Hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your excellent breakfast and were pleased with the daily towel changes and overall cleanliness of your room.
We always try to accommodate guests in the most suitable room available whenever possible, but at the time of your booking all double rooms on both the ground floor and first floor were already pre-booked and therefore fully occupied.
As you have already stated in your review, your booking was made online in haste; in fact it was made in the early hours on the same morning as your arrival and included no additional notes to emphasise any need for lower floor accommodation, so we were unfortunately not in position to make any last minute room re-arrangements.
Thank you also, for taking the time to look at our advertising board. The offer that you had read, does in fact refer to a long weekend, three night special that we are running on Friday to Monday stays for weekends in September and October. These prices can be verified on our website.
To clarify your misunderstanding of our pricing structure, you did book an en-suite DOUBLE room for single occupancy in July (high season), which you would expect to be a higher price than a single room. As the double room is designed for two persons, (rather than for one person in a standard single) we feel that the price paid was in fact a very good deal.
Thanks also for the room tip. We are sure that your recommendation about our ground floor accommodation will be much appreciated by anybody with mobility issues. Our ground floor rooms are very popular, so we do encourage guests with mobility issues to speak to us prior to booking and book early to avoid disappointment.
So, if you are in our area again you will be most welcome to stay with us again and appreciate our clean rooms and quality breakfast. You could even take us up on one of our out of season special offers, but please give us a little more notice next time and talk to us, so that we can accommodate you in the room that best suits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed form firday until monday in June,me & the wife and 2 yr old grandson,everything was just spot on,the price was very reasonable,room and bed comfy,breakfast a delight to start the day on,Rob & Melinda where perfect hosts,would reccommend the Ivydene to anyone.
Will definately use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at the Ivydene for a couple on nights over the bank holiday, was welcomed upon arrival and shown our room..the room was spotless and the service we received was 1st class, clean towels each day, the breakfast was served with a smile and enough for the biggest eater!! sampled a few beers from the bar which had reasonable prices and nice drop of beer.overall wouldnt hesitate to recommend the Ivydene, super service and value for money, many thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here and was fantastic. Rob and melinda are brilliant hosts and made us feel very welcome. The mini bar is good prices and the rooms were spacious and clean. Get a full English which is really good, really happy with the stay made everything 10 times better :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the 5th time we have stayed at the ivydene hotel.
Once again nothing what so ever to complain about everything was superb.
Also a credit to rob and melina for making us feel so welcome during our stay.
Super breakfast still also the newly decorated dining room looks very warming and very cosy.
Credit to rob and melina also for everything being sorted because we was first customers of this year.
We hope to see you again very soon

Jason and emma

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Some of the other comments made me smile,why complain about the size of the car park?The owner went out of his way to make sure we got the car parked,free parking for three days sounds good to me.
The bedding always had that just washed smell to it,like when you hang clothes outside to dry.The bed was nice and firm and we slept well.Over the years we have stayed in loads of small places like this and I really dislike it when you are fussed over and made to feel like you are in someones house but the Ivydene had just the right balance for us.
We dont drink so did not use the bar but were served some fresh sandwiches one night when we did not want to go out.

Room Tip: Toilet was small in room 7,not for bigger people like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivydene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivydene Hotel

Address: 39-41 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly hotel, close to the town centre and sea front attractions of Skegness. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, freeview TV, hairdryer, and tea making equipment. We have a cosy licensed bar with draft beers, TV Lounge and off-road car parking. We offer bed and breakfast or just room only. Our accommodation is fuly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivydene Hotel Skegness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivydene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.