We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivydene Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skegness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivydene Hotel
Save
You added Ivydene Hotel to your Saves list
39-41 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 87 Skegness B&B and Inns
Rosewell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Ivydene for 4 nights, a very nice clean hotel situated in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of town centre attractions. Resident hosts Melina and Rob provided an excellent friendly service, either one was always on hand to offer help.Daily clean towels was an added bonus The breakfast choice was excellent and plentiful which set you up for most of the day. The bar was small but provided an excellent selection of spirits at very reasonable prices
Certainly worth staying at and yes we will return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ive stayed at the Ivydene twice now, a few years ago and recently for 1 night on our biking holiday and i definatly would stay there again. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly hosts. The rooms are very clean, i could smell fresh clean bedding as i walked in, the bed was comfortable, we had a really good nights sleep. Bathroom was clean with a spacious shower. It is in a good location close to everything. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of it and a good choice. It has a lovely little bar thats worth a visit. Would like to thank the hosts for letting us store our two cycles in the back yard. Great hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Ivydene for a week & throughout my stay found the room (room 5) to be very pleasant, clean & enjoyable, the only downside was that the shower didn't work brilliantly (very low water pressure, shower would suddenly run very hot or very cold without warning). The breakfasts were lovely & filling with a wide variety. I found Rob to be reasonably chatty & friendly but his wife Melina was often very short & unfriendly, it seemed she did not really want to talk to the guests at all! The reason for the poor rating of this review is that on the last day of my holiday an hour prior to having to collect my luggage my youngrst child had an accident & was taken to hospital (obviously I went with him & so communicating with the hotel was left to my mum & husband). My husband & youngest son were left with 10minutes to collect luggage & nowhere to stay-we also do not drive. My mum rang Ivydene & spoke to Melina, explaining the situation & asking if even a single room.was available for my husband & eldest son for one night. Melina said that no rooms were available & when told of my situation simply commented that she wondered why my luggage had not been collected. My husband then went to collect the luggage (3 large heavy cases) & took my eldest with him. At no point did Melina (to either my mum or husband) express any interest or concern for the welfare of my son or wether we had found alternative accomodation, although they did offer to drive my husband somewhere. I feel Melina was quite cold & unsympathetic with regards to what was an incredibly traumatic & stressful situation-a single bed/camp bed was surely available & some concern.for my family's wellbeing/manners would have bern appreciatrd. Otherwise a lovely hotel & breakfasts. The lady who offered us a hotel room.for this night in a different hotel was much friendlier & concerned,.allowing my entire family (4 people) to share her only vacant room (1 double bed) for a very low price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and i have just spent 4 nights,5 days at the Ivydene,and we must say,we were very impressed. We booked room no.4. Our room,was clean,fresh,and bright.Alot of effort had gone into making our stay just right. The full english breakfast,was a quality,cooked meal.My wife had the continental breakfast,and it was excellent.The atmosphere in the hotel was very welcoming and friendly,and although it was full,we heard no noise at night.Rob and Melina obviously work
very hard,and it shows in the great service they provide.We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

stayed for 2 nightseally frein in the family room 5 ,great price, excellent breakfast,clean modern room,really friendly hosts,would stay again without hesitation not your typical fusty b&b,a wonderful central close to seafront place to stay cannot mark it high enough

Room Tip: there is a room layout in the brochure,central to skegness but in a lovely quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

i stayed at the ivydene for two nights on my own. neither rob or melina introduced themselves or made me feel welcome. melina never said good morning or have a nice day or even how did you sleep. my room was at the front of the hotel so didnt get any sleep traffic, and i could hear nxt doors tv at 1am in the morning. very nice breakfast and nice modern room. but a smile would of made my stay more pleasant I felt like they couldnt be bothered and were not happy people therefore maybe they are in the wrong job. i would,nt go back there or recomend them to anyone a very cold miserable atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkegnessIvydene, Owner at Ivydene Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found the room very modern.
Sorry you were disturbed in the night we don't know what you could hear as we only had 3 other people in the Hotel when you stayed, and there was nobody in the room next to you or below you for the two nights you stayed.
Light night time traffic noise we have no control over, but as you stayed on some of the hottest days of the year we assume you had the windows open.
Friendliness is a two way thing, we try and talk to all our guests. It is very difficult for Melina to speak in the mornings as she is in the kitchen cooking breakfast and does not come out until
most guests have gone out for the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great hotel and service, Mel and Rob always had time for us and were able to satisfy my 2 boys. Infact we had tears when we said we had to leave.

Rooms are clean and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Fresh towels everyday. it was great that we could change what we wanted for breakfast, by letting them know the night before.

Great location to the main town of Skegness and to the beach. We hope to come back next year.
Claire, Karl, Phillip and Andrew

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkegnessIvydene, Owner at Ivydene Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivydene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivydene Hotel

Address: 39-41 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly hotel, close to the town centre and sea front attractions of Skegness. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, freeview TV, hairdryer, and tea making equipment. We have a cosy licensed bar with draft beers, TV Lounge and off-road car parking. We offer bed and breakfast or just room only. Our accommodation is fuly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivydene Hotel Skegness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivydene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.