We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break with another couple end of June this year.
First impessions were good as it's located at the end of a pleasant road with ample parking at the front. The room was superb and spacious with two king size beds overlooking the gardens at the front of the hotel. Room was very clean and crisp linnen on beds with complimentary bath robes. Slight downside was that you could hear people beneath in the function room and as they were leaving the hotel.
We ate in the hotel bar on the Friday night (restaurant was fully booked!) and the Fish & Chips was very good. Breakfast was fantastic with good choices and terrific locally sourced (Lincoln) sausages. Staff were extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. There was an additional lounge area next to the bar which was roomy and comfortable. We ate out in Skegness at a recommended Indian Restaurant the following evening and the hotel arranged taxis each way.
The location of The Vine suited us as we didn't want anywhere in the town centre and it was very pleased with it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I have passed these on to all members of staff. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine Hotel in the very near future



Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    83
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
97
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel situated in a rather peculiar setting midst housing which put us off but how wrong we were! The newly refurbished bedrooms and dining room were of a very high standard. The cleanliness of the hotel is to be commended. The garden at the rear was a lovely place to relax with a drink. The beach was only a 10 minute stroll away. All the staff were friendly and professional. The food was very good and the service excellent. A gem! Only downside - wedding parties all weekend. Make sure you ask for a room well away from the function room. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, I have passed them onto the team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future




Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I never thought a hotel in Skegness would leave me lost for words! The renovated rooms are beautiful, on a par with city boutique hotels. The only thing I would ask for is air conditioning, but it is easy enough to open the large sash windows so no great inconvenience. I ate in the bar twice and the food was fine (the sticky toffee pudding absolutely divine!) and reasonably priced, as were the drinks. However what impressed me most about the Vine was the staff. I tend to avoid smaller hotels as the staff tend to be overzealous or completely aloof, but everyone I encountered here was quite lovely - not nosy or intrusive, but genuinely interested and happy to help.

I shall, without doubt, be back. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them, I have passed your comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Since my last review we have continued to have excellent meals and very good service. This was sadly not the case yesterday - 30th June. Although I had booked some time in advance a table had not been prepared. Two tables were pushed together and our drinks order was taken at the table.. After 20 minutes no one had come to take our meal order which has always happened in the past. On enquiry I was told it had to be ordered at the bar but someone did come to the table to take it. Food arrived 25 minutes later so, we had been there for 45 minutes before we had food. Food was also served before we were given any cutlery. Food was excellent and staff very pleasant but the place was very busy indeed and not enough staff to cope with demand. We have a table booked for mid September so hope a table is ready and waiting. A small tip - the cloakrooms are really very nice but could there be a hook on the inside of the toilet doors to hang handbags please. I don't like putting mine on the floor and the window ledge is awkward.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your meal at the Hotel on Sunday.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for you and others in the future.

I can assure you that your next visit will be given top priority so that we can have another chance to provide you with the superior experience you had become accustomed to.

If you could give me a call direct to confirm your September reservation I would be very grateful. I can be contacted on 01754 610611.

With regard to the hooks in the Ladies Toilets, I have requested maintenance to attend this issue as soon as possible.

I look forward to hearing from you soon


Sincerely,

Helen BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband I enjoyed a night at this hotel with breakfast recently. There have been some recent renovations. All looking very nice for this historic hotel. The location is in a residential area so it is nice quiet but not far from all the sights. The staff are the best part of this venue. All courteous, helpful and eager to ensure that your needs are met. We would stay here again next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
best western v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments I have passed these on to all members of the team. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Skegness

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Well, WHAT a night all round! The hotel is tucked away at the bottom of a small road, plenty of parking, and the hotel is only about a mile or so from the town centre so easy to walk in and out so you don't need a taxi.
Staff very friendly, and the room was beautifully decorated. We had comfy twin beds, my only gripe was that the pillows were really thick, and I like mine wafer thin!! Good sized bathroom, nice deep bath, which strange as it sounds is one reason why we booked...living only 20 minutes away. We had booked tkts to see the Proclaimers at the Embassy, and thought 'let's treat ourselves to a night away...and we can have a bath too' (as we only have a shower at home!) How pleased are we to have booked a night away?.... VERY as the Proclaimers were staying there too!! Made our stay even more special. Plenty of choice at brekky, though there were gas problems so some items unavailable but none the less plenty of the expected fare, fruit, cereals, yogurt, cooked brekky etc. Would definitely return. TOP TIP, ask for a room at the back, and on 2nd or 3rd floor; there was a ball on the evening we stayed, very noisy downstairs but we heard nothing from our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
best western v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of town and is in it's own grounds so parking is secure. The hotel dates back to 1770 but has been tastefully renovated to a high standard. Bedrooms are of a reasonable size, very clean with comfy beds. We ate in the restaurant for the three nights we were there and the food was extremely good and the Sticky Toffee Pudding was the best we have ever tasted. There are two bar areas where the same menu is available if you prefer the more casual option. The staff are extremely pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. It was a super three days and we will be back again. A real gem!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the sun all day so do get hot ( fan is provided) Second floor not suitable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
best western v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, It is always a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. I passed these comments onto the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel

Address: Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skegness
#6 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built & established as a Hotel in the 1770's, BEST WESTERN The Vine Hotel boasts beautiful surroundings in a quiet location. Ideal for a Seaside Holiday, but away from the lively seafront. Under New Ownership in 2012, The Vine Hotel has undergone major refurbishment. All 25 en-suite bedrooms have been upgraded and are individually designed with different grades of room available. All Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, Tea & Coffee Making, Hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the Hotel. The newly refurbished Gingerlily Restaurant offers a varied Menu using fresh local produce, this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. The Tennyson Bar & Oak Bar offer Bar Meals served daily along with Traditional Local Ales being served. Only a 20 minute walk from the lively Grand Parade and Skegness Pier or less than 3 miles to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Skegness
Skegness Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.