We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Never again...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Booked via the Best Western website for one night for hubby, myself and his guidedog. Made it clear on the remarks page that hubby is registered blind and is a qualified guidedog owner. The receptionist was fine until we wanted to go to the restaurant for our dinner as the bar was very busy and other dogs were there off the lead (this would distract my husbands dog). She was friendly but insisted that PETS were not allowed in the restaurant! Explained guidedog etc etc but she was not having it. It was resolved after a call to the manager and she did apologise and we were given complementary drinks at the meal in the restaurant (which was empty!). But we were still not happy with hotel itself. Room was very old fashioned and shabby, the carpet was bitty and the bed was hard as nails! The pillows we think were made of concrete, my one gravel! Although nicely presented and a lovely waitress from Poland was falling over herself trying to be nice the food was not great with just about thawed prawns basically dumped on the plate with very little rose-marie sauce. The steak was tough, the chips were nice. The breakfast was good though. Won't stay there again and have now been put off Best Western hotels.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    94
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
57
113
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
1,132 helpful votes 1,132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Vine a few times on my occasional visits to Skegness and I have always found it very pleasant. Decor is a bit 'olde worlde' but that's not meant as a negative as it's an old building. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the bedroom and bed was comfortable and the free internet access is a bonus. The bar always has a welcoming atmosphere and a real fire. Breakfast is nice (with the exception of the deep fried mushrooms) and cooked to order. The room was also good value for what I paid too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break at the Vine Hotel and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were exceptional, couldn't do enough for us and the food was fantastic. We were spoilt for choice regarding the food as there was something for everyone, ie, cheap and cheerful for the budget conscious (2 meals for £10.00) to the blackboard specials which were exceptional and were a little more expensive, and also, their extensive every day menu. The breakfasts consisted of top quality local ingredients and it showed. The best breakfast we have ever eaten without doubt! If you enjoy old world charm and roaring log fires, then this is for you. The only down side is the decor which was a little dated, but the rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds and a very large, modern bathroom. Couldn't ask for more! One more tip - only take clothes with elastic waistbands as the portions are enormous!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is not your 'every room the same' hotel and may seem a bit dated because of the corridors. We've just spent a very enjoyable weekend here and it was good not to be charged a single supplement for our daughter's room. The staff are splendid without being overpowering, the rooms are very clean and it's a delight to sit in the bar by the log fire. There was plenty of choice on the menu and the food was good and the portions substantial. The breakfast was magnificent and the lady in charge of service was so organised everything went like a well-oiled machine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, just out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Skegness centre, but walkable. Just across the road from the beach, great for walking the dog. It's lovely warm cosy bar with open fire, its great food and selection of drinks make it a great getaway. We have just returned from another stay. The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great, very comfortable and clean. The super sunday deal is amazing 2 course lunch, 2 course eve meal, room and breakfast for £46 pp !!! how do they do it? The hotel allows dogs to stay and is very dog friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel

Address: Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Skegness
#4 Family Hotel in Skegness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built & established as a Hotel in the 1770's, BEST WESTERN The Vine Hotel boasts beautiful surroundings in a quiet location. Ideal for a Seaside Holiday, but away from the lively seafront. Under New Ownership in 2012, The Vine Hotel has undergone major refurbishment. All 25 en-suite bedrooms have been upgraded and are individually designed with different grades of room available. All Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, Tea & Coffee Making, Hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the Hotel. The newly refurbished Gingerlily Restaurant offers a varied Menu using fresh local produce, this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. The Tennyson Bar & Oak Bar offer Bar Meals served daily along with Traditional Local Ales being served. Only a 20 minute walk from the lively Grand Parade and Skegness Pier or less than 3 miles to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Skegness
Skegness Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.