We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherwood to your Saves list
The Sherwood
11 Rutland Road, Skegness PE25 2AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 87 Skegness B&B and Inns
Bigbury-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Warm welcome.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed one night in August. Warm welcome by Linda who made us a pot of tea which was well received after along trip. Decor a bit tired but clean, Excellent breakfast.good location for all attractions. Room was at rear with no noise and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked for a 2 night stay for the August bank Holiday, 2 double rooms. Both Rooms were lovely and clean, beds were very comfortable with egyptian cotton sheets and quilts, both rooms had ensuite with shower, all the little extra's were there, shower gel, soap, room spray, wet wipes, etc. Tea and Coffee, with bottled water.

Breakfast was great, choice of cerals, fresh fruit, juice etc, followed by a full english, cooked fresh to order, to your liking, constant offers of more tea, coffee toast.

Linda and Rob are great hosts, will only stay at this hotel when we stay in skegness.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

would not reccommend, me and my partner slept in a twin room as there was double available, the room was okay but because the room was always so hot the milk went off so couldnt have any teas or coffee's also we slept for two nights and the second day the room didnt get cleaned all day the room didnt need much cleaning perhaps the bed made and a quick hoover around we werent asking for alot but even that didnt get done however every other rooms got done in the b and b the food was of a good standard nothing to complain about however after coming home from the trip i have fount bed bug bites all over my legs about 15 bites and it has to be from the beds as i never ever have my legs out except for in bed.

Room Tip: try not to get the room in the attic and try not to come home with bites they itch like mad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Sacha
We were alarmed when we were informed of your allegation of bites from our rooms and promptly contacted a company to investigate and take any necessary steps. Every room in the Sherwood was checked and we were given the all clear. I can confirm to you that The Sherwood shows no visible signs of bedbugs as you have alleged. As I discussed with you over the phone, You may have been bitten by biting insects from when you were sat outside on the concrete ground or sat on the grass etc. We contacted guests who had stayed in the same room a week prior to you to enquire if they had suffered with any bites, they had no bites and were more than happy with their stay with us.

We only reserve rooms for guests which they have asked for. We always recommend alternative accommodation if we are unable to provide suitable accommodation. The reservation that had been made for your stay was for a twin room.

We take great pride in ensuring all our rooms are cleaned daily, however as we informed you on the afternoon of your second day, we were unable to enter your room to refresh it as the key had broken off in your lock, we had to wait for your return to get your key so we could get another cut. On our return you went back in to your room, you asked for your tea, coffee and milk to be replenished which we did, later that evening you asked for some more milk, I promptly gave you a jug of fresh milk, if at any time you required more or it needed replacing you only had to ask, we always try make ourselves available to our guest. The weather had been very warm during your stay and fresh milk does not last all night out of a fridge.

The majority of our guest enjoy their stay at The Sherwood, we are sad that you stay was not the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Linda & Rob have got it just right! A relaxing weekend made mroe so by their being friendly and attentive when needed but never intruding into our time. Will definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very friendly hosts Rob and Linda couldnt do enough for us, even took our bags to our room, great touch. Great location and very nice breakfast, would definately recommend and will definatley be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Myself and my wife (Stuart and Shelagh from Dumfries, Scotland) have visited Skegness many times, but have to say that this Hotel certainly is now at the top of our list. As soon as we arrived and until we left Linda and Rob couldn't possibly have made us any more welcome. It was more like staying with friends than just being in a Hotel. The service provided and accomodation, can only be described as 1st class. Very close to town centre and beachfront and yet is situated in a very quiet and peaceful location. There is also a lovely park directly opposite the Hotel for a relaxing stroll around and which leads through onto the beachfront. One thing is for certain and that is anytime in the future that we may require accomodation in Skegness this will certainly be our 1st choice. Thanks again Linda and Rob and look forward very much to seeing you both again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of Hotel look over onto large park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

A great hotel, rooms nice and clean, great cooked breakfast and you are well looked after. Brilliant location just off the front. Perfect for a short golf weekend.
Thanks again, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood

Address: 11 Rutland Road, Skegness PE25 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherwood, Skegness offers guest accomodation, close to the Embassy Theatre, the clock Tower and a 10 minute walk from the train station. The Sherwood has 8 En-suite bedrooms of which, 3 are Delux Bedrooms (Twin/Superking) with delux shower/dressing room. We have one ground floor bedroom. All our bedrooms are comfortably furnished with cotton Linen and duvets, Flat screen digital freeview TV, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers come as standard in each room. A full English breakfast is included in our rates. We have limited car parking for 3 cars, which is complimentary for our guests. Rutland Road offers free car parking where available and Skegness has many paid car parking only a short walk away. The Sherwood Hotel is close to all that Skegness has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.