We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for Tots break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butlins

Butlins
Chapel St Leonards Road, Skegness PE25 1NJ, England
01754 614444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Skegness
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Carlisle, Cumbria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just for Tots break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just returned from the first 'just for tots' break at this resort and for £209 for all four of us it was brilliant value! The programme was packed, Bob the builder, Mike the knight, bananas in pyjamas and lots more. The pool was brilliant with little slides the kids could do themselves. The little stars fair ground was also very popular. The accommodation was fine- we stayed in a silver apartment but it was very small & only had a shower which our baby hated. The staff said none of the accommodation at Skegness has baths. If I was going back I would pay a bit more and have a gold apartment for extra space although it looked like they were a longer walk from the centre.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    280
    129
    62
    81
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tremendous Tots week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just back from tots week with my husband & 2 year old son. We are from Glasgow & drove down. Well!..I can honestly say it was worth the drive! Everything was fantastic. The entertainment laid on for the pre 5 group was second to none. Butlins; you should be proud of all your staff. They are professional, friendly & most importantly very approachable.
As a child growing up in Scotland, unfortunately, Butlins didn't seem to have the best reputation. I am very pleased to say that this is no longer the case!
We stayed in a silver self catering apartment which was pleasant, clean and comfortable. For what we paid; it was definitely value for money. A fantastic break, will be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just for Tots weekend - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just stayed at Butlins for the 'Just for Tots' week with granny and my 2 year old twins. We had a fab time stayed in gold accom which is a must, the pool, fair, little tykes town, donkeys, play area all brilliant. Staff were lovely and so knowledgeable and the site was lovely and clean.

So good we booked again for next year on site!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“all in all very nice place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

we are family of 2 adults and 2 girls aged 13 and 11.
we spent 2 nights Friday 25 and sat 26th april 2014 which was a sun holiday.
we were allocated a standard chalet in lagoon bay which upon arrival looks like Beirut but don't be fooled by those iron steps and mispainted firedoors as as we entered the chalet we were actually surprised how clean and large they were. we had a double room and kids had 2 singles in a separate room to us. there is plenty of heating a modest tv with freeview and a kitchen area with kettle.
the bathroom was spacious enough and decent shower with hot enough water.

butlins itself is a brilliant site for our aged kids as there is the funfair which takes some finding but trust me it is there.
everything In general centres around the big tent dome in middle of site, this conatins centre stage which is one of 2 places where you watch the evening entertainment although we didn't go in as the reds entertainment suited our teenlike childrens age.
there is also a cinema burger king coffee shops a supermarket and another littler stage where they entertain the little kids. also there are plenty of arcades where you can win tickets to save up to get a prize but trust me they are very poor prizes so youll need tp collect loads of tickets!!
we went self catering but we did go in the premium buffet inside the dome called the deck. this cost us 18 pounds per adult and 9 pounds per kid so 54 pounds.
sounds pricey but if you like your food you will get your moneys worth and there are unlimited soft drinks and ice cream. trust me when I say ots a lot better than some foreign buffet type places this is brilliant for the kids.
all I all a very good holiday for the price and weve booked with butlins for next august for 7 days.
only tiny negatives like price of soft drinks and bar prices being a little high and I was also constantly resetting freeview box in chalet.
oh nearly forgot you must visit the splash pool absolutely loved it loads to do warm water slides galore best one ive ever been to.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spring Harvest 14-19th April”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a fantastic break. We stayed in the Butlins Caravan park which was a short walk to the Butlins Skyline. The atmosphere was amazing lots of like minded Christian adults. Children were well catered for with great clubs for all ages which gave us the opportunity to attend the talks and seminars. People were peaceful and polite, no swearing, drunks or arguments to see. The seminars and talks were fantastic. The christian bands phenomenal even my 8 year old wash jumping up and down rocking out!!!!! The big start was great for the family with amazing music and comedy entertainment a great start to the day!! The pool was open until 10:30 to allow the older children to enjoy after the clubs had finished for the evening and you knew that they would be safe due to the overall atmosphere of the place and the conduct of all on site. The only bad points were the food at Ludos wasn't up to standard and therefore the only other decent place, the fish and chip type eat in had queues in which you were waiting at least 30 mins. We saved about £300 staying in a private caravan so suggest you look into that if you intend to go. Overall a wonderful break for Christian and non Christian families alike who like good music, interesting though provoking talks and the opportunity to feel God presence with thousands of others! Oh and the pool was amazing my daughters cried whenever we had to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butlins also viewed

 

Been to Butlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butlins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.